We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neighborhood Pub in a Tourist Town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playwright Celtic Pub

Playwright Celtic Pub
732 8th Ave, Between 45th Street & 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 354-8404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,223 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Eclectic, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Pub in a Tourist Town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was staying in the area and was looking for a good but not fancy place for a meal. I went to the pub on the recommendation of other friends who live in the area and eat there regularly. Although York City is expensive the Celtic Pub is reasonably priced for its location.

The food was very good and the waiter was attentive. Four people were able to enjoy food , drink and conversation without feeling rushed. The upstairs dining area is relatively quiet and I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    118
    48
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

One of the absolute best pub bars ever. Playing great music, and they have a lot of alcohol in their drinks! : ) This is a place that you need to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Warm Beer for a High Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stopped here for a drink; the draft beer was warm and the prices were high. It was a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We ate there twice during our latest visit to NY. My wife and I enjoyed our meals both times we were there. We had hangar steak, lamb chops and both were very delicious. the soups were homemade and also good. For desert we had a chocolate cake, which we also enjoyed very much! The service was good too. We had a mix up where one waiter left, without telling the other one to look after us. At least they were very honest apologizing and admitting their mistake.
I'll definitely come back in the future, good value, the service and most importantly food were great! Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to lunch at this pub. I had a voucher to use and the service and food were excellent. The waitress was so nice and the other wait staff were great. They always had my water glass filled and we were always checked on. The food was excellent and it was in a perfect location close to Times Square and our hotel. We would definitely visit here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwright Celtic Pub also viewed

 

Been to Playwright Celtic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playwright Celtic Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.