We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre show dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orso

Orso
322 W 46TH St, New York City, NY 10036-3801 (Manhattan)
(212) 489-7212
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #800 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great pre show dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

7 of us had dinner prior to seeing Mowtown...excellent service, excellent risotto and even better chicken. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, elitist service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Food consistently innovative, fresh and delicious at this theatre district restaurant with service that mostly disappoints. We keep coming back though because the flavorful entrees never disappoint. Wines are delicious and coffees also served piping hot. One block from the theatre district this is a sure fire meal that won't disappoint. Just don't expect a waiter to ever pay any attention to you except when it is time to collect the check!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale,AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent pre Theater stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to NYC we dined at Orso before an evening performance of Kinky Boots. We did not have a reservation but were seated right away. Our server was very attentive. They have half orders on the menu which made sharing easy. The bolognese was very god a was the tiramisu desert. Would definitely return

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Quaint and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent service and delicious food. Be sure to order the "pizza bread" as part of your appetizers. Very thin, crispy crust triangles. The roasted artichoke appetizer was also very delicious. The wait staff was attentive and even though I was dining alone, I never felt out of place. I had steak for my main course and a couple glasses of wine to go with it. Excellent location near the theater area. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Good spot in theater district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I dined at Orso twice during a recent visit to New York. This is a good pre/post theater venue, close (walkable) to most of the major Broadway shows. Standard modern-ish Italian cuisine.

My first meal was a pre-theater matinée luncheon, the second was a post-theater dinner. Both times the food was very good and reasonably well-priced for New York. I would say that the luncheon experience was the better of the two. The service was excellent, friendly and very attentive. Post-theater, while the food was good, service was much slower – so much so that we declined to stay for desert as it was already very late and just taking too much time.

I recommend Orso but know if you go after a show, that you may be waiting a while. Recommend reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orso also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.