We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, large place, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Utsav Festive India

Utsav Festive India
1185 Avenue Of The Americas, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 575-2525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Utsav Festive India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,364 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 46th St., b/w 6th & 7th Aves.
Transit: F,B,V,and D to Rockefeller center; N,R to 42nd St.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice, large place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I got there from a recommendation, it has something you can't find on a lot of Manhattan restaurants: SPACE! large room, pretty good buffet food, nice environment, good to try a lot of different things (if you are a tourist, great).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    35
    73
    24
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth the difficulty finding it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We hit this restaurant following an evening at the Cort St. Theater. The general location is great, it is a little tricky to find as it's tucked into an entrance that is around the building from the main entrance. We asked the lobby attendant that was inside the main entrance and he directed us in the right direction.

Once seated and greeted we settled into some really great food. The staff were warm and friendly, the food was really good. My friend and I shared an appetizer sampler plate and then shared an entry choice of chicken tikka masala. Really tasteful food and the atmosphere is well done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good Indian, a bit hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We started out to go to a favorite Indian restaurant in the Village, which had closed, so decided to try this one that was closer to our hotel. It was a nice surprise. The food was very good, moderately spicy, and the service was quite good. We had a chicken curry, and a lamb dish, plus matar paneer, and bombay aloo. Plus nan. The servings are a bit smallish, which was fine, since we didn't want to take anything with us.

It is easy to get lost if you don't know where you are going. But this is on 46th avenue and right next to a couple theaters. It is a wonderful spot if you are going to a show.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Indian food. Large portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Were with large group of friends who really love and know Indian quisine. There were a number of differences in menu we were familiar in Russia, but curry, vandalu and masala were of the highest quality. I really like lussy - in Ustav it was very smooth. Higly recommended closeto the Broadway show district.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Ate here post-theater and was glad that they seated late. The last seating is at 10:45 on Sat making it perfect for post-theater. The place is sort of tucked away and it wasn't busy in there so I hope they can survive that since the food is very good.

The ambience is nice and it's quite a large space. Among the items sampled:
Pakoras, samosa, khorma, makhani, naan and pulao rice. All washed down with a Kingfisher, of course.

Everything was delicious - my chicken makhani (butter chicken) was my favorite, with copious amounts of tandoori chicken infusing the rich and tangy sauce with a lovely smokiness.

We left absolutely stuffed and I felt the food was all very reasonably priced. Will definitely visit again when I'm back in the city!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utsav Festive India also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Utsav Festive India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utsav Festive India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.