We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gattopardo

Il Gattopardo
13 W 54th Street, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10019-5417 (Manhattan)
212-246-0412
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Gattopardo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 5th Ave & 6th Ave.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to Il Gattopardo on Thanksgiving and we had the small meatball lasagna and the spicy rigatoni. It was delicious and just writing about it makes me want to go back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    71
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft worth
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Rude with good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were 12 minutes late for our reservations because we were waiting for Godot. The maître d announced briskly "If you want to eat here you have one minute to order!" We had a minute, so we accepted. The maître d and our waiter were fortunately not related...at least in demeanor and personality. The waiter was polite. He brought us a wonderful wine that was under $70. Rigatoni was delightfully spicy, and the beef and veal meatballs were outa this world. The spaghetti with shaved truffles was the maître d's revenge. He shaved a paucity of white truffles that barely made it to the plate. Our punishment at $80 for an half order was indeed punishing. The place is elegant, as I am sure are the regulars. But we won't go back, even if Godot is there waiting for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Italian with charm and a nice buz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I came back here this month after a first visit last year with my wife. Warm ambiance with a nice busy buz but not overly hectic or loud. Food is solid Italian but not overly traditional. My appetizer of meatballs wrapped in cabbage leaves and pasta with bottarga and garlic where very well done. Wines by the glass were very good but a tad limited in choice. Best to have a reservation bu there are a few small tables at the bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A really great Italian restaurant, superb food, and attentive and charming staff. When we arrived it felt very cold, and, when asked, the staff were happy to turn off the aircon instead of the usual "it's the aircon".

A really great night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I couldn't stop going back here to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am such an Italian food snob, I took recommendation from a trusted source, and went here for dinner. The staff were so attentive, the food so wonderfully prepared, the prices so reasonable, and the wine list so nice, I returned after the Rangers hockey game for a small plate of pasta (as a nightcap). New faces that night, but equally attentive, food even more outstanding than the night before, if possible. So what did I do for lunch on my way to the airport the day I left? Yes. I went to Il Gattopardo. Try the sciallatelli and the fish special whatever day you go. The paccheri was also excellent. As was the clam linguine. As was the pork. And the wine, And the dessert... you get the idea. Tell Giuseppe Minnesota says hello.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gattopardo also viewed

 

Been to Il Gattopardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gattopardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.