We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative atomosphere as well as cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Circo

Osteria del Circo
120 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-5305 (Manhattan)
212-265-3636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria del Circo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,450 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: Subway: E M @ 5 Avenue / 53 Street B Q N R @ 57th Street / 7th Avenue F @57th Street / 6th Avenue
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Creative atomosphere as well as cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took a client to Circo and were not disappointed. Service was attentive but not rushed. The menu represents a nice variety. (The ravioli was amazing!) I especially loved the creative, bright, circus-inspired atmosphere. I would definitely return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    50
    28
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First class Italian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice setting, pleasant service, and really good Italian cuisine. What more could one want? The octopus salad drew a good review, my wife was very pleased with her ravioli entree, another diner gave his linguini two thumbs up, and they did a great job on my branzino. (The wines by the glass--we all had the poggio guardi--were first rate.) Creme brûlée and sorbet finished off the meal in fine style.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant Italian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

"Circo" as it is referred to, is a pleasantly smart restaurant. We had the BEST grilled Octopus ever, in a mild aromatic broth with chickpeas. Now for incredible: the Tagliatelle with Truffles! And they ritualize them with the Matre 'd shredding the Truffles at table-side. The Tiramisu comes in a Martini Glass which is different and nice. The service is excellent and the decor has a hint of a circus flair on the ceiling. Do go! Highly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What delicious food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to NYC over the winter storm Nemo weekend and stayed at the Essex House. They recommended a couple of Italians and we chose Circo. What a pleasant surprise. My food was outstanding - the ravioli de mamma egi. It was melt in your mouth delicious. My husband had the octopus to start which he loved, and the Branzino for main which he was happy with too. The waiters were attentive and the bread was constantly refilled which the kids loved (I have two teenage boys who eat a lot!). They loved their pasta chittara.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went for lunch as needed to relax a bit after walking all morning. Was not sure what to expect but thought the food was great. My husband had veal scallopinne, I had Zuppa Alla Frantoiana and a Mista salad all would highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Circo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Osteria del Circo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Circo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.