We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Traditional Sushi place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushiden Sixth Ave

Sushiden Sixth Ave
123 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10020-1104 (Manhattan)
212-398-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #888 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Sushi place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sushiden is around for decades and may not be as hot as those new sushi restaurants in downtown. But it serves decent traditional sushi and never disappoint sushi lover. Sushi Chefs are from Japan (Sushi-den has many sushi restaurants in Japan.) and properly trained. This is a restaurant I would visit regularly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best sushi I have had outside Japan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very good sushi. Best of all: the food was served at room temperature and thus had much more taste than if it had been colder. Expensive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Great sushi place in the center of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great place with fresh fish and friendly staff. We ordered sushi a-la-carte and it was delicious. The atmosphere was very authentic as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Quick lunch stop ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Tried for lunch. Sat at sushi bar. Had two rolls. Good but nothing blew me away. Seemed pricey for what you got. Good service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pricey but Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by one of the attendants at our hotel. My partner and I had no reservations so when we walked in we seated ourselves at the bar side. We both decided to order the Coho Salmon Burger along with the shaved greens. Both were well prepared and quite appetizing. The service was excellent. The decor is wonderful....the food somewhat pricey.....but overall a very positive experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiden Sixth Ave also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushiden Sixth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushiden Sixth Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.