We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-theatre 3 course dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Rivage

Le Rivage
340 W. 46th St., New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 765-7374
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Rivage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #522 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street; N, R & W trains to 49th Street; 1 train to 50th Street; and all trains to Times Square/42nd Street.
Description: Le Rivage offers you a cozy, romantic French country atmosphere where traditional French cuisine is expertly prepared for your pleasure. Fresh flowers embellish each table. Prices are delightfully affordable with incredibly rewarding selections; a true bargain in the heart of the theatre district.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great pre-theatre 3 course dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Returned to Le Rivage after a decade to find the same hosts and same outstanding quality. Salade vert with artichoke first course, then swordfish Grenobloise were well prepared and beautifully presented. Trout also done well. Good wine list. Ice cream with cherries to finish. Tables are close together, creating community. Reasonably priced for NY at $39 p.p. and plenty of choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    102
    72
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A trip back in time and that is a good thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Once upon a time French restaurants in this country were classic French country cooking. This is trip back to the that era. This is our third trip to Le Rivage and it is consistently excellent. We has the prix fixe lunch which is a bargain at $25. Everything is good but the duck and the seafood dishes are outstanding. We has bottle of good wine that was fairly priced and the service was excellent. Just a relaxed meal on a cold winter afternoon in a warm cozy setting. It was a real plus that we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on 8th avenue that was a short walk away. This was French cooking that reminded my of my first trip to France over 40 years ago. Simple and elegant at the same time. Hope this place never changes!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely and dependable little bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Situated right in the middle of Restaurant Row, Le Rivage is a wonderful pre-theater choice. The three course, pre-theater prix-fixe is a bargain with a much, much greater selection than most restaurants in the area. Our friends had meat and we had fish and everyone was happy.

The owner is truly on top of things and is constantly mingling and checking up on the guests. It is a very warm environment and we look forward to returning often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We made reservations here specifically because I had never had duck before and really wanted to try it... and, it was absolutely delicious! My wife had the Coc Au Vin, and that was pretty good, too, but the duck was just amazing. I also had a lobster bisque for appetizer, which was good (she had Onion Soup, which was pretty tasty), and then a couple of desserts (chocolate mousse).

We wound up paying $100 for a full three-course meal each and a glass of wine each (that price was with tip), so considering the quality of the meals, I think it was well worth it. The one thing I would say is that if you're going to eat here, then plan on giving yourself some time to eat, because it's pretty French-authentic in that your courses are pretty spread out. I think we were there for about two hours and could have been there longer pretty easily. Also, dress nice. You don't have to wear a suit or anything, but a nice collared shirt and a pair of slacks never hurt anybody. You're going to feel pretty out of place if you walk in there wearing a hoodie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Le.Rivage Duck la orange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This little restaurant was my first experience pf fine dining in New York City My partner had carefully chosen it because of its convenience to the theater
We followed basic rules of foodies
and chose the specialty of the house which is the duck. It was delicious
The ducks skin was crisp and a beautiful golden brown The doc was moist beautifully seasoned with just enough fat from the skin to empathize the flavor Of the orange sauce The orange sauce was very tasty Without being sweet and cloying to the palate
The atmosphere was very French with all the waitstaff from the culture All was very helpful and added to the enjoyment of the evening

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rivage also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.