We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Rivage

Le Rivage
340 W. 46th St., New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
(212) 765-7374
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Rivage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #490 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street; N, R & W trains to 49th Street; 1 train to 50th Street; and all trains to Times Square/42nd Street.
Description: Le Rivage offers you a cozy, romantic French country atmosphere where traditional French cuisine is expertly prepared for your pleasure. Fresh flowers embellish each table. Prices are delightfully affordable with incredibly rewarding selections; a true bargain in the heart of the theatre district.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Four friends and I had tickets to see a matinee performance last Saturday in New York City. We live in Connecticut, so aren't all that familiar with restaurants in NYC. We chose Le Rivage from a list of restaurants in the Broadway area, primarily because it is located two blocks away from the theatre and because it is French.

The decor reminds one of a Parisian bistro, with brick walls and paintings of the French countryside. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

They have a pre-theater prix fixe luncheon for $25 that includes appetizer, entree, dessert and coffee (or tea). Each of us ordered something different, and we all loved what we ate. I had the pate, duckling a l'orange and chocolate mousse. I don't remember having such a great meal, especially at this price. We will certainly return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    107
    33
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hudson ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really great old school hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I just had a fine dinner at la rivage. The tricky thing was they had a price fix menu and we had 2 people wanting to share a dinner. Everything was fine. They assured us to order as we saw fit and they would accommodate us. All worked out fine and the bill was better than I expected. (no split charge)

The duck lorange was ok but the sauce was to die for.
Beef Burgundy was perfect
Lobster bisque 9.5
Cesar salad had me licking the plate when I could without being caught.

Desserts 9.0 the fact they were free (included in fix menu) = 12.0

The owner is still there and greeted us and recommended my dish personally. I felt welcome and was treated like a regular even though it was our first time.



    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great value. Charming ambiance. Lovely servers. Inclusive menu. A favorite for before and/or after theatre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Decent food wi great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Six of us had dinner here, choosing a later dinned (after the early eaten crowd) to take advantage of their lower priced "fixe" menu. The food was good, with a special nod to our appetizers and dessert. The service was excellent...the waitress and owner were attentive without being overly in our space, polite and efficient. It is unlikely I would come here with kids as I don't think the menu would appeal to them and it's a quiet restraunt that would be boring for most kids or teens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fixed lunch menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

a wonderful restaurant on restaurant row food is hot and delicious service is outstanding they always seem to get you out on time for your matinee reservations are a must

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Rivage also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.