We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem on Broadway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellen's Stardust Diner

Ellen's Stardust Diner
1650 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
(212) 956-5151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #441 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
lake City, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem on Broadway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Luckily, a friend clued us in on this place while we were in NYC. Amazing. We did breakfast there. Foodwise, it is fairly standard diner food, with pretty normal rates for New York( meaning a tad higher than a lot of places ). But, the reason you come here is for the show. The hour we were there, we were serenaded non-stop by the wait staff as they took turns singing everything from show tunes to top 40. The entire wait staff is either in, or trying to get in, a theater production. They said they had lost 14 staff last year (2013 ), who had made it in to a production. And yes, they do pass a bucket around about once an hour, that is strictly voluntary, that is split evenly among the staff and used for singing or acting lessons. One warning though, do not go if you are in a hurry or impatient. Remember, you wait person is in a rotation to perform WHILE they are waiting on customers, so be patient, sit back, and enjoy the show. If you like theater or music, you will love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,853
    1,636
    497
    185
    177
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went here on my honeymoon because she wanted to. Wasnt looking forward to it, ended up really enjoying it. Food was excellent (I had the Reuben) beer was good, staff were very talented. One of my favourite things I did while in new york. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun!,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went here twice while I was in New York for 5 days once for lunch and one for breakfast! The portions are massive, if your not a big eater don't get a starter and a main course! The atmosphere in Ellen's is fantastic.. All the servers singing broadway songs! Very entertaining!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, NY
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A must stop in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is simply--fun for all ages. Ok the food is not 5 star, but overall good. Best part is the shakes. Line outside moves very fast. About 100 people in line only took 30 minutes. Very fast service once you are inside. The singing is very entertaining. First floor is best to view the show. We sat this time in the basement which doubles as a jazz club at night. Still very good as waiters walk through the crowd and sing. Price wise plan on $25-30 per person with drinks. Will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We went after hearing good reviews about this place but were very disappointed. We were sat upstairs with no view of the singers or entertainment that was happening downstairs, the food was poor and quite expensive. A one point the entertainers were collecting money to help with their stage school fees or something like that, on top of tips.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Stardust Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ellen's Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellen's Stardust Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.