We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellen's Stardust Diner

Ellen's Stardust Diner
1650 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
(212) 956-5151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #402 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Manteo, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Go for the show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good diner food, excellent singing staff! Our server was Jennifer aka Dottie and she sang and danced the song from Chicago - my sister does this...and I do this...LOL! She was excellent and made our day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,228
    1,918
    588
    211
    207
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Singing and fabulous Cheesecake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed this diner! We had the grilled cheese sandwich, which was good (not fabulous but that was fine by us), and a piece of the best plain cheesecake with strawberries on it we have ever eaten! The waiters and waitresses all take turns singing. It is pretty cool to see your server belting out a toon. The singing was excellent, we just wish it would have been a tad bit quieter. Overall, the experience was great and we loved the cheesecake.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we visited on the saturday night, and had no problem getting in although it was busy. The tend to push you through, like most new york restaurants and we'd loved to have stayed longer as we were really enjoying the entertainment. Food was good, but you really go for the singing which was brilliant. If you like musical theatre you'll love this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great nIght with the family in a restaurant as loud as we are! So fun to look around as see grown men (who looked like they could beat someone up) singing along to all the songs! Food... Ok, it's diner food, but the prices reflect that. It's all about the atmosphere at the Stardust! And yes, I ate an entire banana split just to stay there longer! Our server (Matty D.) had a great personality and was an INCREDIBLE singer. I loved when two or more people would sing together, it really showed off what they could do! All in all, best meal of the trip :D

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fun place to hear some possible future Broadway singers and get some food while you are at it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Took my 2 adult daughters here after a matinee Broadway play. We arrived around 5p.m. and were seated immediately in the upstairs area. This place really started filling up around 6 so we were glad we arrived early. While the food here is not excellent, its not terrible either. Its just your standard diner meal. I had the pot roast and my girls thought mine was the best of all three of our meals. The meat was very tender and I got a substantial amount of food. The best part of this restaurant is the entertainment. All the waiters and waitresses can sing and entertain.They were all very, very good! This is a very lively place and we all had a great time and would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellen's Stardust Diner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ellen's Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellen's Stardust Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.