We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croton Reservoir Tavern

Croton Reservoir Tavern
108 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699 (Garment District)
212-997-6835
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Croton Reservoir Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,869 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Café, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Garment District
Cross street: Broadway and 6th Avenue
Transit: Take any train to Time Square.
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Food: I had the cheeseburger sliders. They were really, really good--and 3 was enough.
Ambiance: Croton is basically an upscale dive bar. It has sports on the TVs and a homey, casual feel, but it's also decorated really nicely and the staff is very professional. This is a great place for any number of occasions: drinks after work with friends; a first date; a light dinner with colleagues.
The biggest problem: the acoustics are really terrible. I've been when it's crowded, and it's bad--but even when there aren't tons of people there, it's still very noisy. If you're looking for a place where you are guaranteed enough quiet to have a real conversation--or you want to ensure your conversation is private--this is not the place. Voices carry, both upstairs and downstairs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Business Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Right next door, friendly staff decent prices for NYC. Great lemonade made there from scratch, highly recommend one tries it over the regular soda order.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tavern feel with steakhouse food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We didn't have reservations but they seated us immediately and were very friendly. Good selection of food, the steak frites with Cajun fries is a new favorite for us. The skirt steak was cooked beautifully. Fun relaxing atmosphere with a big bar. Hostess was trendy and fun. It's a wonderful spot just steps away from times square but in a quiet area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were staying not to far away, so made reservations via Open Table (1,000 points earned). We weren't disappointed. The bar area was full, but we had reservations and the dining tables were a bit separated from the bar. We split a couple of appetizers and that was more than enough. Great sliders. I ordered a hot drink and got a hot drink that was delicious, but I remember being surprised that I would order something so creamy. After I had finished it our waitress came over and apologized as they realized that they had given me someone else's drink order and they comp'ed us my original drink order and brought that one out. I think the 1st drink was a mint hot chocolate - yummy. For desserts we went with the plate of homemade cookies. We were not disappointed. They really were amazing. Cookies would be a highlight on Santa's night :-)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Our Thanksgiving Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I surprised my wife with a Thanksgiving holiday trip to New york City.

In trying to find a restaurant with a traditional Thanksgiving dinner I read through tons of reviews before settling on the Croton Reservoir Tavern.

We had a 3 p.m. reservation and were immediately seated. We sat in the first floor section opposite a really nice long bar. Our server was Mandy and she was both gracious and efficient.

We had a delicious soup, followed by a big salad and entree with turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and vegetables. this was followed by a delicious desert.

We enjoyed out time there savoring our delicious meal and a couple of glasses of a red house wine.

It was the perfect Thanksgiving dinner and a perfect part of our trip to the city.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croton Reservoir Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Croton Reservoir Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croton Reservoir Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.