We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Classical French Bistro Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tout Va Bien

Tout Va Bien
311 west 51st street, New York City, NY 10019-6408 (Manhattan)
(212) 265-0190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,739 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: E c train one block away on 50th sreeet.
Transit: E, C train one block away on 50th Street.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Classical French Bistro Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was meeting a friend in the City who adores French food, especially bistro food, and she suggested this restaurant. he was correct and their bistro food is classic French ranging from Tripe to Calves' head. She ordered the filet with Foie Gras while I ordered hearts of Palms along with tripe a la Caen. All the food was excellent - the filet was cooked perfectly (medium rare) and the tripe dish was extremely subtle with a delicate touch. Downsides were the fact that the restaurant is quite small and thus cramped. The wait staff speak poor English and service was spotty. This did not detract from the food however. An interesting choice close to the theatres.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    77
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Friendly Sale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had car service and I wanted a bottle of wine to enjoy on the ride home, so I went in search of a liquor store in area. Failing to find one, I stopped in a few bars on the street and each said they do not sell package goods. I entered Tout and was greeted by a friendly hostess, who when I explained my wanting to purchase a bottle of wine, found someone who could help. I was given a nice choice with thoughtful explaination of each, and the bottle was gladly opened, then recorked so we would be able to enjoy in the limo. We enjoyed the bottle and it made the end of the evening very nice on the way home. You might expect price gouging as a possibility, but not here. I was offered a variety of wines at all different prices. I'm just happy to have found a place that greeted me so friendly, only wanting to purchase a bottle of wine and helping me pick a very nice one. We had a fantastic night and the nightcap in the car, was a fitting closing. We will try the food once we feel like French cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have been going to Tout Va Bien for over 20 years, boy is it easy to see it has changed hands . Gone is the fun exciting atmosphere hustle bustle friendliness . The woman who greeted us was mean. Our waitress was nice though. It was virtually empty for a Saturday night. Would not recommend it now, it's a shame . The old owners have another place called Le Baratin will check it out next time I'm in the city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“All Is Not Well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Despite its name, all is not well at Tout Va Bien, one of the theater district's long-time French bistros. A hastily written sign warned us that the bar is not open, having apparently just lost their liquor license. During our stay, the owner came by to personally remove the licenses from the mirror behind the bar, and to tell us that he didn't know when it would be available again. So, everyone was rushing out to the nearest liquor store. The menu is on a large, rather unsightly plastic card. Service seemed distraught and the food only just above average. The price is right, though, and they do get you out in time for the theater curtain. Tout Va Bien claims to be the oldest French bistro in the district. Whether they will survive now remains to be seen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Feel of Paris on the West Side of Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Tout Va Bien is a restaurant that we have enjoyed for several years now, on the West Side of Manhattan. The place has a feel of an authentic French bistro, and you are always greeted by a host or hostess who is authentically French. The food is authentically French as well, with such classics as onion soup, Mussels in garlic and wine sauce (with fabulous, crunchy French baguettes for dipping, or beef bourginon, or chicken cordon bleu, or steak frites, all served with savory sauces and much elan. Tout Va Bien also serves classic desserts, such as creme caramel and a rich chocolate mousse. I've been there when it is quiet and when it is hopping with happy diners. Either way, go - for the food, the atmosphere, and the feeling that you just might be in Paris, even in the middle of Manhattan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tout Va Bien also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tout Va Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tout Va Bien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.