We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy setting, tasty yet small plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estiatorio Milos

Estiatorio Milos
125 W 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
+1 212-245-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Estiatorio Milos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 11,189 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: N,R,W,Q,and F to 57th St. B,D,and E to 7th Ave.
Description: It was in 1980, when Chef-Owner Mr. Costas Spiliadis opened the first Estiatorio Milos on Park Avenue, Montreal.The reason seemed obvious to him: the need to elevate the sophistication of Greek cuisine abroad far away from its stereotyped forklorization. 'I wanted to change what people thought about Greek cuisine,make sure it's being appreciated and awarded with its rightful place on an international level!' As a small restaurant, Milos gained the trust of the Montrealers in no time. The menu being always simple and impeccably fresh, drew the attention of the media and food critics from around the world. NY Post has triumphly started that 'Milos fish could only be fresher if it swam to your plate!' What was the secret that made Milos stand out? Its focus in finding the purest Mediterranean products and cooking with the freshest ingredients.Through 35 years of intensive research, we have managed to build lasting relationships with growers and small-scale fisheries at the shores of Greece, Morocco, Tunisia and Portugal, flying in our fish and seafood daily by plane! Milos has since then taken the world by strom and opened in 1997 in NYC, in 2004 in Athens,in 2010 at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas and in 2012 in Miami Beach and in 2015 in London! We invite you to live the Milos experience and celebrate with us our 35th year anniversary!
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fancy setting, tasty yet small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Went there for brunch with my lovely girl. The place looks outstanding enough to impress your date. It was so packed the waiters barely had time to do anything but the minimum for each table. Bummed that some of the items we ordered from the menu weren't available (really? No calamari at a Greek seafood joint?) food is very tasty, yet some of the portions of the price-fix menu are...tiny. All in all, nice place, good food, make sure you eat before you go there

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    178
    56
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good , but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Yes, the fish is prepared simply and excellently, but after 3 times, I won't go back for dinner. It is very IN, so it is very crowded and very, very noisy. That makes for a less than pleasant dining experience. The fish display and choosing your own fish (do you really know which is which and when loup de mer and dorado are prepared the same way will you know the difference?) seems rather gimmicky (and reason for higher prices?). When you pay for your fish by weight (before it is cleaned), it is very expensive. Lunch is a bargain and, in my experience, much quieter -- I'll go back for that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A taste of Greece in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Go to this restaurant if you like fish or seafood.
A last minute reservation and we were very impressed that they were able to accomodate us.

The fish and seafood are on display and under the guidance of your waiter you can choose whatever you fancy. Everything is cooked to perfection with minimal eleboration which is perfect for fresh fish or seafood. There is a wide selection of greek and international appetizers and a very good list of greek wines.

Your waiter is always around to answer any questions the guests might have. Noisy restaurant though but it seems that everybody is having a great time, enjoying their food and wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic Greek Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you want to experience the true taste of Greece, then this restaurant hits the spot. The service was impeccable, warm friendly staff and excellent service. The traditional dips were amazing. There was a party of four and for the main we all shared a Greek native fish (lavraki) with roasted potatoes drizzled in olive oil and oregano. It was superb. It is a little pricey but certainly worth every penny. I have visited Greece numerous times and even though I'm no cuisine expert, I do know that the food was exactly as it was in Greece.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“a lunch must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I had allways heard great reviews about this place and the food, but I had also heard how expensive it is.
We went for lunch, and had their lunch special menu. $25.00
Appetizer: Grilled Octupus cooked and seasoned to perfection.
Entree: Fresh Lup de Mer, pefectly deboned and cooked.
Dessert: Fresh Fruit or strawberry sorbet or Wonderful Crumble cake with Passion Fruit sorbet.
Service was fun and profesional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estiatorio Milos also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Estiatorio Milos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estiatorio Milos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.