We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoped for better food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria al Doge

Osteria al Doge
142 W 44TH St, New York City, NY 10036-4013 (Midtown)
(212) 944-3643
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria al Doge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #954 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: N,R,S,1,9,2,3,7 trains at 42nd Street
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hoped for better food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were in New York on business and going to this restaurant was a bit of a treat for us after our last day's work. The presentation and ambience were very good. The negatives were our waitress (not easy to understand - she recited the menu options too fast and with heroic indifference) and the food, which was bland and a long way from authentic Italian. Maybe New York Italian is different to Italian Italian - it might have been an expectation problem on our part.

So, a good place to be seen but not a good place to eat. Speaking of being seen, the lighting is so subdued (i.e. dark) that we all had considerable difficulty reading the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    227
    57
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location, okay good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Conveniently located in midtown, the restaurant offers solid value for your money. However, the food was average but the service was very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stopped in for a great pizza lunch. The restaurant was close to the hotel we were staying so we gave it a shot. We had the soup of the day (spinach) and minestrone - I think the best I've had. We each had a pizza which were both really good. It took a while for a server to take care of us, but we weren't in a rush either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan. NJ
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Value & Service; Our Go-To Place in the Theater District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

For friendly knowledgeable service, consistently good food and a bill that won't leave a hole in one's wallet, Osteria al Doge is hard to beat. We've eaten there several times over the years, most recently after catching a Wednesday matinee on the coldest afternoon of the year. Each of our four entrees were well-prepared and tasty, as were the desserts. Although the wine list is sparse, there are good selections at reasonable prices. The tab for four (including a 20% tip) was just over $200, a bargain by Manhattan standards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Oh, this food is GOOD! The bread basket is a treat with some great olive oil.... salads and antipasta divine, I was here for a short time and wanted so much to try more menu items, everything I saw coming out was fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria al Doge also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Osteria al Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria al Doge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.