We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarone Ristorante

Amarone Ristorante
686 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)
2122456060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #608 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Hell's Kitchen
Description: Hell's Kitchen, Midtown West, Theatre District, Clinton
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

4 years ago, my mom and I took our first trip to NYC. The hotel we stayed at (Belvedere) recommend this place to us for dinner one night. It was amazing! Last year, I visited NYC with a friend and begged her to go there for dinner. It was another fantastic meal. When I went back to NYC last month, I thought "I can't go to NYC and not go to this restaurant" so we went again. Not only is the food amazing, but the service was great and the ambiance is fantastic. I simply love this restaurant and will continue to go back here each time I visit NYC.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    143
    55
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I usually do not like restaurants in the theatre district... for many reasons, often because they are over priced, loud and I feel rushed. Amarone, however was a welcome change and we will definitely go back. The food was probably 4 star... nothing to really go crazy over, however one exception to that was the tiramisu which tasted very fresh and homemade, 5 star for sure.
The service was great, very attentive to our table, skilled waiter ( Andreas I think?) and the busboys were great too. We never felt rushed even though we were there before a show. Atmosphere was warm and cozy, nice welcome at the door and a sincere good evening when we left. All the food was very good and good portions too. Cons: I don't think it was a bargain, and the wine pour was kind of stingy. However I must say, that for a Manhattan pre-theatre restaraunt it is a great find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Classic Italian A Meatball Toss from Broadway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the ideal place to dine after seeing Book of Mormon. A five minutes walk, and the noise and congestion of Times Square become a distant memory. Fine food served by friendly waitstaff made the evening a joy. Thanks Andrea.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Tasty appetizers but entrees are nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate here before our show based on the strength of the reviews on TripAdvisor. Although the atmosphere and appetizers were very tasty, both of our entrees were pretty pedestrian. My Chicken Amarone was overcooked and tough, and my husband's Chicken Parmesan was fairly bland. The atmosphere is nice. I recommend that you get a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“satisfying experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel-concierge. In the late afternoon we went there to make a reservation for a table in the evening. When we arrived at 7:30 pm the table of our choise was occupied. The waitress was very sorry for the mistake and proposed several other tables that were still free. We found one that pleased us. We ordered mussels and grilled port. mushrooms for a starter. Then we went for the scallope al gorgonzola and the linguini al vongole. This was accompanied bij a Montipulciano. The dishes were very tastefully prepared and presented. The Italian touch and the relaxed yet correct service was very good, The interior decoration gives a homely feeling. Later on the waiter proposed a surprise of the house. He came up with a large plate with tiramisu and panna cota offered as a compensation for the mistake with the table-reservation. To conclude he served a small glass of dessert-wine.
We were very pleased with all this as it was in such a contrast with the many tourist-traps arround Times-Square. 100% recommendable!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Amarone Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarone Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.