We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarone Ristorante

Amarone Ristorante
686 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)
2122456060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #601 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Hell's Kitchen
Description: Hell's Kitchen, Midtown West, Theatre District, Clinton
Auburn, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our concierge at the sanctuary hotel made a reservation for us. We were seated immediately and the staff were very friendly. Our meals were delicious, home made gnocchi, chicken parm and the buffalo mozzarella appetizer was homemade and was to die for. For five of us with two bottles of wine was only $140. We could walk to it from our hotel. It's very small and the tables are close to each other but we didn't mind. Our Albanian waiter was the best. The salads are huge and can feed 4 easily. Will return

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    143
    55
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ultimate Service Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We needed a restaurant convenient to Times Square hotels, and chose Amarone, 9th Ave. & 47th St. for its location. What a nice surprise. Cozy and warm, with the most courteous and attentive service we have ever experienced in NYC. They were happy to accommodate our gluten-free diner, our alcohol free drinkers, and all of our special requests. The menu had all of the regional sauces: Putanesca, Bolognese, Amatriciana, Vongole, Picatta, and so on, the food was very good, but not haute cuisine, and reasonably priced. But the best part was the experience itself, and a pleasure to find.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and warm place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

As an Italian coming to New York since 2004 I strongly recommend this restaurant in Hell's Kitchen. It is one of my favourite places to come because of great food and very warm hospitality. The menu is always enhanced by several fresh pasta dishes that I love, wine list is very good and especially focused in Northern Italy (it includes many Amarone vintages, the wine from where the restaurant takes the name). For those who have not been here yet I would say it is a must-try!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A piece of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Being an Italian expatriate I sometimes feel nostalgic of my country's food. My biggest concern about going to Italian restaurants abroad is to be disappointed by food execution, taste and presentation. Amarone exceeded my expectations! My husband (who stops by every time he's in NYC) invited me here for dinner and had a truly good food experience.
I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food at correct price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went for a one course dinner. The risotto del giorno was excellent as were the 2 other dishes. The wine card is impressive (but not cheap). it is a nice interior with friendly waiters. With a bottle of wine included, we paid for 3 a total of 120 $ + tip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Amarone Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarone Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.