We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delta Grill: where Hell's Kitchen meets the Bayou....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Delta Grill

The Delta Grill
700 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10036-3603 (Manhattan)
212-956-0985
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,140 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delta Grill: where Hell's Kitchen meets the Bayou....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a surprise.....Hell's Kitchen, New Your City! We wondered by and on passing again we dropped in. The wait staff are GREAT... We had drinks and shared blackened crayfish & crab cakes... great! A fun place for those who drop in & those who work there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    55
    86
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spicy good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Had the delta fried chicken and it was fried perfectly! Moist in the middle and crispy on the outside.. Good flavor:-) yams were great and decent collards. I would definitely suggest it if your in the mood for it. Other guest had the jambalaya! Very good portion, spiced very well and filled with different meats. Last guest had the stuffed chicken rolls. They were great, spicy!,but I took a bite of my sweet yams with them and they went so well together.. Hot and spicy! Overall, we were all very satisfied! Oh yeah, and dessert, I almost forgot! We had the banana fosters fried cheesecake! Yum! It was awesome! Great server! I wish I knew his name, but I can't remember it.. He was a black man with dreads. Very nice !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Too Bad We Weren't Hungrier!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner before a Broadway show but unfortunately we had had a late lunch so we were not that hungry. The menu looked great and I would have liked to try a number of the entrees but instead we did appetizers which were very good. The gumbo was nicely spiced as were the grits and fried green tomatoes. The alligator sausage was quite tasty. The service was friendly and quite speedy. Surprisingly good NO restaurant in the middle of Hell's Kitchen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mich and baz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great surroundings, lovely seat great for people watching which me and my fiancé love doing, food was gorgeous we had chicken with breadcrumbs wrapped around sausage meat placed on plate like 4 towers, it appetising just looking at it as always couldn't eat it all was stuffed , waiter was very informative when asking about meal .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great wait staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just finished a fabulous meal at The Delta Grill. The ribs were the tenderest ever with a great flavor. Jason, one of the waiters , was a trip. We helped him spell the menu on the chalkboard. Really he could spell, we were just kidding with him. What a nice guy. Mary, the hostess, was so nice and fun to talk with. We loved our meal and would come back again next time in NYC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Delta Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Delta Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Delta Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.