We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a limited menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Zen

Sushi Zen
108 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011 (Manhattan)
(212) 302-0707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,476 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $12 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good but a limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went here before going to the theater. The sushi was good but the menu is rather limited, perhaps because the focus is on more traditional sushi. If you want some of the more Americanized rolls, you won't really find them here. Also, no other types of Japanese food, so no tempura or bento boxes, just sushi.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“For the sushi lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Ever since I started eating sushi at Tsukiji market in Tokyo Japan (absolutely fresh fish at its best!), I have not been able to find anything close.

Sushi zen was able to offer me the comforting sweetness of what I would expect from good sushi. We paid 100+ for two premium sushi sets and a miso-eggplant appetizer. The staff seemed to be largely Japanese, which added to the authenticity. We were happy to tip our server for her attentive service. In Japan, it would have been difficult to do so as they do not have a tipping culture, even though their service quality is almost always excellent and top-notch.

There were other items on the menu that caught our eyes - seared tuna etc. As we were very jet lagged, we decided to have a quick meal instead. Hopefully we will get a chance to return to New York again to complete our dining experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Omakase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We usually order Omakase when going to restaurants new to us. This Omakase was sashimi, sushi and an appetizer between. There was a lovely vegetable pre dinner serving. The sashimi was fresh and fabulous and the presentation beautiful . A mackerel and onion tasting was served in a lovely basket and there was a steamed fish in the banana leaf! The sushi was presented one at a time , each with the right touch of sauce. Each one was the best we ever had until the next one was presented ! I can't remember them all but they included blue fin tuna, sable, bonito, snapper, shrimp, live octopus, salmon and a tuna roll. The last one was eel, more tasty than we have ever had! We had our private sushi chef at the sushi bar for the evening who explained everything we were eating. Don't miss this experience if you are in the Times Square area. Pricey but not different than other upscale sushi bars in New York and worth the price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reliable and good value for Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

While not a huge expert on Japanese food I have always enjoyed my visits to this conveniently located (6th Avenue and 44th Street) Manhattan restaurant; I would say that it is as authentic as it can be outside Japan itself, with attentive staff, a pleasant atmosphere and excellent sushi and sashimi. A decent meal for two with drinks about $100, welcome to NY. Heartily recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really enjoyed the set menu, sea urchin is however an acquired taste. Service was very good and we had a great time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Zen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushi Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.