We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy, lively, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hell's Kitchen

Hell's Kitchen
679 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10036-3618 (Manhattan)
(212) 977-1588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,027 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Freeport, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Yummy, lively, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Liked it all - portions are small so don't expect Olive Garden. Small place, right in the thick of Hell's Kitchen scene. Had the shrimp avocado tacos. Delish.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    99
    32
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs to be good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

...if you're naming yourself after a neighborhood.

Great food, mood, vibe and lighting during our 8:30 PM visit on a Saturday night. Close to the theaters so this is a great find for the future.

Let's talk about the food. (Quick note: if you are vegetarian, there are a some good items here.). I started with an impressive mini chicken tamale topped with a superb mole sauce and pickled cabbage on the side. The tamale was perfect in size if you want to save your appetite. My girlfriend had a mushroom zucchini crepa topped with a poblano sauce. This was also really good with pronounced mushroom flavor. For the main course: the pan seared sea bass with grilled chayote (a fruit similar to a squash), salsa verde and plantain puree was fantastic. The sea bass was topped with what seemed to be cornmeal bread crumbs and this worked very nicely. Salsa verde was top notch. Tried another appetizer which was the duck confit empanada. This was solid with nice flavors but could have used just a little heat. Had a very good margarita of the house on the rocks with salt. A nice and simple margarita with fresh lime and silver tequila.

All in all, a gem of a find and I expect to be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food, mostly locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everything was fresh and delicious. Mexican fusion really works for me. Really good drinks too, though we stuck to basics like margaritas and mojitos.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hell's Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Located on the corner 9th and 39th Street, was very convenient from our Hotel. Friendly staff with a quite simple menu with choices to suit most - Italian slant but not exclusively so. A good place for a quick straightforward meal nicely presented.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Whenever I'm in New York, I usually have one of my meals at Hell's Kitchen. It's like Mesa Grill, only more casual and cheaper. This time, I had the ancho crusted tuna tostadas, which were yummy, and the grilled sirloin, which was one of the best sirloins I have ever had. It was so flavorful. We went late on a Sunday night around 10, and fortunately did not have to wait for a table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hell's Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hell's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hell's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.