We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Mexican place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hell's Kitchen

Hell's Kitchen
679 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10036-3618 (Manhattan)
(212) 977-1588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,025 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went here on a Saturday evening before the theater- having stood in line at TKTS beforehand and eating french fries to pass the time, we weren't that hungry, but that was ok, because they have some great appetizers that we (group of 3 couples) ended up ordering tapas style, and enjoying with our drinks, which were also great. The service was very attentive, and all the food was delicious- be sure to try the plaintain empanadas and the black bass tacos (rather spicy, so be careful). The ginger mojitos were a hit at our table, too. My friend was even able to get her favorite drink, a michelada, which I hadn't even heard of before (beer and chipotle with lime, occasionally with tomato juice).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    99
    32
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“one of my fav's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a fantastic restaurant. A bit pricey but worth it. The atmosphere is great. The food is upscale mexican. The wine list is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place after seeing Wicked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just wandered close to hotel and found Hell's Kitchen. Small place but really nice. Staff great and food was wonderful. We shared tamale appetizer and steak and it was more than enough.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Music is too loud and annoying. Food is so-so.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Blasting dub-step at 10 pm on a working day and half-empty restaurant -- it's almost impossible to talk. Waiters are ok, but they don't like to suggest and to advise. Food: starters (tuna and cevite) are ok, sea bass is good, ribs are dry and too spicy to match side dishes. Once again -- you gotta be more into spices into food to enjoy this place.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice spot with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very good Mexican food in a quaint little restuarant on 9th Avenue a few blocks from the theater district. The service was very good and we really enjoyed our dinner. Interesting plates and plenty of choices for adults -- but not many for children. It is a little on the expensive side but a very nice and satisfying meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hell's Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hell's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hell's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.