We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek food this side of the Atlantic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molyvos

Molyvos
871 7th Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
+1 212-582-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Molyvos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 55th and 56th Streets
Transit: 7th Avenue (B, D, E Trains) 57th Street (N, R, Q Trains)
Description: With a culinary vision rooted in the traditions and heritage of the Greek islands, Molyvos delivers rustic country cooking, featuring unique, regional ingredients from the villages and islands of Greece. Collaborating Chef Diane Kochilas is an award-winning cookbook author, host of Greece's most popular cooking show "Ti Tha Fame Simera Mama?/What Are We Going to Eat Today Mom?" And chef, whose recipes have been featured in Food & Wine, and The New York Times, among other outlets. Kochilas' frequent trips to Greece are the inspiration, informing the menus at Molyvos. Executive Chef Carlos Carreto, an essential part of the Molyvos team for 16 years, is responsible for executing the menu at the restaurant daily.
Hinsdale, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Greek food this side of the Atlantic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I doubted that we would find better Greek food in America than what we find here in Chicago, but I was proven wrong. The decor was elegant, yet authentic. The service was excellent. And the food was thoughtfully and meticulously prepared. Try the Icarus salad and the grilled octopus - you won't be disappointed. Finish your meal with the delicious milopita (apple pie) topped with cinnamon ice cream. I am already looking forward to my next trip to New York!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    135
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delicious Greek Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

When visiting New York recently with friends, I chose Molyvos for lunch. I was not disappointed. The food was uniformly excellent. We had the wild greens pie, stuffed calamari, octopus salad and leg of lamb wrap. Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed their choices. One of our friends is Greek and she agreed that all the dishes were beautifully prepared and quite authentic. The service was excellent as well. I will certainly consider returning to Molyvos the next time that I visit New York City.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So delicious that we returned again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband is a fan of Greek cuisine because of his father's experience of living in Greece. We were so happy to see this restaurant when we were visiting NYC.
In the first visit, we had grilled octopus, stuffed red bell peppers, and haloumi cheese. All were really tasty and authentic. We were delighted to see the restaurant also provides wine from Santorini. We just visited Santorini and the winery there last summer, so, the wine the restaurant provided brought back the fond memory. Wile we were dining, we found there were white asparagus on display. We always could not resist white asparagus, so we made the lunch reservation the following day.
When we returned the next day, we ordered Greek salad, moussaka, and stuffed red bell peppers. The kitchen was also so kind accommodating our request on how we want the white asparagus to be cooked. It was another wonderful, authentic meal!
This restaurant is in a very convenient location and the service is also attentive and wonderful. It is a pity that this restaurant is not in HK!
We highly recommend this one!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My parents and I ate dinner here before we saw Cabaret. Love the zucchini flower appetizer and the hummus! Very refined Greek food. And the wait staff were friendly and recommended the best Greek wine. Memorable meal before a memorable show!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Evening Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a great evening at Molyvos! The waiter recommended a very good Greek wine, appetizers of Greek cheese assortment and salad were great and the fish dishes were very good. Thank you Molyos staff for a very good evening.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molyvos also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Molyvos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molyvos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.