We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon's " deal" is not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FireBird Russian Restaurant

FireBird Russian Restaurant
365 W. 46th St., New York City, NY 10036
212-586-0244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,081 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $74
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 8th and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1,2,3,7,A,C,E,N,R,Q,W,S to 42nd Street Time Square Station
Description: Firebird, Opulent decor, "Regal" service, and "Divine" Vodkas that may inspire you to shout, "Bring back the Tsar" (Zagat). If you only dine once in Manhattan, dine like a Tsar. Lunch from 11:45am - 2:30 pm Lunch Pre-Fixe $21 and $44.95 Dinner Pre-Fixe available everyday from 5pm - 7pm.
Westport
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Groupon's " deal" is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Seafood "tower" is an exaggeration...dry crab claws, tiny oysters, funky tasting clams and warm " champagne". Spend your $45 elsewhere. Disappointed and kicking myself for falling for this scheme.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    46
    24
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went here on a Friday night with my Fiancé, I was very excited about it. Took about 10 minutes to get someone to ask us if we wanted a drink, they apologized, place was not packed. We had the Seafood tower which consisted of Lobster cocktail, Shrimp, Crab meat, Clams on the half shell and Oysters. Everything was good except the clams on the half shell, I don't know if they were frozen but I had 2 out of 6 clams and that was enough for me they just were a bit off. The coat check upon entry was nice and the host was very pleansant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food in a wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The decor is absolutely opulent! Located on restaurant row and convenient to broadway theaters, it is in one of the old brownstones. Plenty of seating and very open spaces. The food was excellent (I had the beef stroganoff)! The service was a little slow but I think it is because they want you to enjoy the experience. If you go, do not miss the Bananas Foster for desert! It was out-of-this-world good! Price is a little high, but not outrageous.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Old school fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My second trip to Firebird. It's formal in a worn, relaxing way. Caviar, champagne, vodka and lamb made for a delicious, old school meal. I love the cruise-ship-formal ambiance. The decor is a bit worn but unique and authentic. Others think it's overpriced, but I don't think that way at all. It's not hip but it's a really good place to dine with one other or a small group.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful resturant ok food and service slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a beautiful resturant had a Groupon for the seafood tower which is suppose to cost $90 dollars not worth the $45 I paid we also had the caviar which was good but did not care for the burnt pancakes my friend had the salmon which he stated was delicious but very small portion for $31dollars stated the wine was good wanted to have dessert but service so slow ran out of time this is a beautiful resturant wonderful for romantic or for special occasion with friends and a fat wallet not get the seafood tower mot worth it esp at full price also was treated differently after knew had a Groupon of which had service we would have spend alot more money

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FireBird Russian Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to FireBird Russian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FireBird Russian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.