We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong for food or craic.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langan's Bar & Restaurant

Langan's Bar & Restaurant
150 W 47th St, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 869-5482
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Langan's Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,312 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Transit: A,C,E,1,2,3 to 42nd Street
derry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong for food or craic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a couple of good nights in Langans, Food was lovely and for Times Square was reasonably priced. Music nights at weekends are great if your up for a dance and a sing-a-long, all the usual banter you'd expect from an Irish bar, staff friendly and service is quick. Like most bars and restaurants in Times Square you have to buy wine by the glass they just don't do bottles ($10 per glass) for some reason that we never really got to the bottom off, and being wine lovers with our meal found this the only expensive side but all in all everything you'd expect form a good well run Irish bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    104
    38
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food/Drinks, Decent Prices in the heart of Time Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our group of 4 really enjoyed the experience at Langan's after a long day of walking in NYC. We were looking for a Great Pub with "comfort food" at a good price. This was a great find thanks to T.A. reviews and recommendations. Bangers and Mash was really good along with Fr Onion Soup (one of the best iv ever had) burgers were a hit with our group. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Beer on tap was fresh and really cold, yum. We really enjoyed it would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Langans is Irish with the Irish atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Langans was opposite our hotel and couldn't be better with the Irish style and atmosphere and you wouldn't think you are in NYC and so close to Time Square. We found the food choice and prices first class especially the Chicken Pot Pie. The service is excellent with very friendly staff. Got to mention Christine, Nicola from Burnley and Gustav who looked after us and gave me a very happy birthday and Shaun behind the bar who kept the Vodka and Wine flowing. You can enjoy a quiet meal at the back of the pub or enjoy the irish atmosphere in the bar area especially when there's live music . Definite recommendation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shibuya, Japan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dining room in the rear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The bar is crowded and noisy, as it should be, but the dining room in back is quiet and comfortable. Good service, good choice of drinks, including rival stouts Guinness and Murphy's, friendly staff. I come here every time I visit New York--two or three times a year. This year on St. Patrick's Day, which was wild but helped me fight jet lag, and then near the end of April, when it was quiet and comfortable, as mentioned, and homey. Especially for me, an expatriate New Yorker of distant Irish descent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Visit this restaurant everytime we are in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been coming to this restaurant since first finding it for New Year's Eve 1999-2000. We were very pleased at that time and therefore return to this same restaurant every time we are in NYC.
The pub style is similar to Irish pubs and that is the point. The food choices and prices are excellent. The service is great.
In spite of the fact that this restaurant is so close to Times Square, you are treated with dignity and respect. It is friendly with a great bar upon entry. Do not let that intimidate you as you need to go past the bar area and there is the hostess to find you seating. This is also a fine place to take children. They are welcome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langan's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Langan's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langan's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.