We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
152 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4025 (Manhattan)
(212) 921-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Virgil's Real BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #779 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway and 44th
Transit: LOCATED ON WEST 44TH STREET BET. BROADWAY AND 6TH AVE. A,B,D,E,F,1,2,3,N,R,Q,W. TRAINS to 42nd street times square.
Description: We are a much decorated Home-style BBQ restaurant located in the heart of Times Square, at the crossroads of the world.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The prices were quite fair for the portions and quality. My wife and I ordered the trio sampler and an app. We could barely finish it (and we were hungry) . We also got a table next to actor Oliver Platt...Bonus!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Virgil's Real BBQ, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always fun to see stars when in Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    711
    238
    64
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anywhere
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've been to Virgil's a number of times and have always had a pleasant meal. The food is good, especially the wings. They can get very crowded during peak meal times and tourist seasons but usually you'll get a seat within a reasonable time. I usually get the pick three combo with brisket, pulled chicken, and ribs.... always a good meal. The corn bread is warm and very good. All in all Virgil's is a nice place, has a good atmosphere, and is a must visit when in the Times Square area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Virgil's Real BBQ, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and being a loyal customer. The wings are my favorite. Hope to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real BBQ Found in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had a great culinary experience at Virgil's in Manhattan, just a hop, skip and a jump from Times Square. I had the beef brisket and trash ribs (sauce cooked in). The meats were flavorful and mouth-watering. The french fries were the bomb and the baked beans an interesting blend of beans and what appeared to be a meat sauce. I was totally disappointed in the key lime pie. It didn't have the sweet-sour combination that challenges the taste buds. However, I would recommend a visit if you're in New York City. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Virgil's Real BBQ, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. The brisket is one of my favorite dishes. I am sorry our key lime pie was not to your standard. My apologizes. Hope we can have you again and you can have our banana pudding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We went with high expectations of great tasting bbq but found the beef brisket to be dry and ribs really salty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Virgil's Real BBQ, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have concern on when your visit was so we can check our smokers. Could you email me so that I can review with the store? thankyou@virgilsbbq.com Best Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Would return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was good! Fan of Virgil's sister restaurant Carmines so was pleased when we happened upon it looking for somewhere to eat. Portions are huge. Decor is fun. I had the famed brisket and would definitely have it again. Family had ribs and "were good" according to them but didn't have them raving as far as being best ever. Service was attentive and everything was efficient. Would return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Virgil's Real BBQ, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and mention of our sister restaurant Carmine's. The brisket is one of my favorite as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgil's Real BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.