We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
152 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4025 (Midtown)
(212) 921-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Virgil's Real BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #939 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway and 44th
Transit: LOCATED ON WEST 44TH STREET BET. BROADWAY AND 6TH AVE. A,B,D,E,F,1,2,3,N,R,Q,W. TRAINS to 42nd street times square.
Description: We are a much decorated Home-style BBQ restaurant located in the heart of Times Square, at the crossroads of the world.
West New York, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Of the few BBQ places I've gone to in NYC this is one is pretty good. Their ribs are pretty tasty. There is a Texan atmosphere with barn like decor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    778
    268
    77
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crazy portions of tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We pre booked this on the internet as we were informed it got very busy.

The food was delicious but portions were too big. I had the BBQ chicken with two sides... It was enough for 3 people.

We started with the match is to share but these would have served 4-5 people


The location is great, the atmosphere nice and great service.

We would return but would share a course instead!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best BBQ up North”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I took my dad to this restaurant after viewing a play and it was fantastic! My dad likes simple fare so Virgil's fit the bill perfectly. The portions are more than enough and you will definitely need a doggy bag! The corn bread, ribs and fried fish is to die for and well seasoned!!! Go during the week, less of a crowd!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - bring ur appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great portions of lovely barbecued meats and a good variety of sides. My partner ordered brisket dinner & I had pulled pork. Comes with a choice of 2 sides and cornbread. We both had a soda with it & the total cost was $56. The burgers etc are cheaper. Worth the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The full rack of baby ribs, grilled on hickory and oak, was just fantastic! Unbeaten! Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgil's Real BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.