We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good BBQ in Times Square area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
152 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4025 (Manhattan)
(212) 921-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Virgil's Real BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #817 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway and 44th
Transit: LOCATED ON WEST 44TH STREET BET. BROADWAY AND 6TH AVE. A,B,D,E,F,1,2,3,N,R,Q,W. TRAINS to 42nd street times square.
Description: We are a much decorated Home-style BBQ restaurant located in the heart of Times Square, at the crossroads of the world.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good BBQ in Times Square area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stumbled upon this place after a show on Broadway. We had kids and it was late, but this place seated us quickly and we had great food. The prices were very reasonable and the BBQ was delicious...their special french fries and hush puppies were especially good. Not diet food, but just down home good BBQ!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    703
    237
    64
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was good, waiter was great!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, my husband had the BBQ 1/2chicken. The chicken breast was very juicy and tender with a smoky flavor, he ordered the potato salad and collards which were pretty good per his his taste, I didn't taste either but I do recommend the 1/2 chicken. I ordered the pulled pork, baked beans and slaw, the beans and slaw were pretty good, the BBQ was good, after tasting the chicken, would recommend the chicken over the BBQ....that's a individual taste preference. The cornbread was actually a small corn muffin and pretty tasty. The waiter "Elvis" was the highlight for me hahahahaha, he was very friendly and attentive to my husband and I. Overall this was a good experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a must visit !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

fab staff and food , love the hush puppies for starters ! defo recommend a visit , just near hotel shows how good a place is when busy an not on main road for easy access

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good BBQ for a decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This has become a post theater tradition for us. Very good BBQ - not fancy but they got the sauces down. Texas chili is unique with brisket in it. A bowl is a meal. Wings taste great with smoke and spice flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not my style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lots of American friends have extolled the virtues of the American BBQ experience, however for me this is not a great way to eat. The quality of the meat itself was fine, but what did that poor pig do to end up getting "pulled"? I avoid Hogs Breath restaurants in Australia and cant see myself heading back to Virgil's in the future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgil's Real BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.