We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo, fantastic and fabulous food and experience, at least 5 sommeliers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
155 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
212 554 1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $90
Cuisines: French, Southwestern, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bravo, fantastic and fabulous food and experience, at least 5 sommeliers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Fantastic & fabulous: We went to NYC to celebrate our friend's Big-O birthday and, although we made reservations at other venues, this was the highlight. We were not disappointed, in fact, it was one of our lifetime's best dining experiences ever. I have decided a few years ago to go to the top 50 restaurants of the world (I have gone to 7 so far) and I finally checked Le Bernardin on my list. We had the Chef's tasting menu (there was a regular TM offered) as well as the wine pairing. There were several in our group with various food allergies (crab was mine and my friend's was shrim) and they replaced them. My favorites were the ceviche and the fish with caviar. We had champagne in addition to the wine pairing and their choices of French wines was varied and interesting; there were at least 5 sommeliers walking around the room as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    259
    120
    38
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Dinner for us took place after the pre-theatre crowd had cleared out. Staff was quite friendly, very knowledgable and seemed at ease - very professional. Dinner was relaxed - no hurry, rush or anything like that. If you do not select the tasting menu you have 4 courses for a fixed price of $135 - plus wine. Two from the left side of the menu, one entree from the right side (we enjoyed halibut, monkfish and striped bass) and dessert from a separate menu. Food preparation, taste, temperature were all excellent. No complaints here. Decor was warm and inviting. Not for the budget conscious. Total for three was $650 not including tip. Would we return? You bet but give us some time to save our pennies.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still annoyed and disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I picked Le Bernardin for our Anniversary lunch. It couldn't have been more disappointing. I'd heard that "ordinary people" get ordinary service and food, but that's never happened to me at a good restaurant. Eric Ripert, take note! Every plate that walks out of the kitchen and into the dining room is an important memory to the person who ordered it. Your kitchen and wait staff need an intensive refresher course in what made you a 4 star restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“newly crowned my #1 in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

the experience is hard to come by (especially landing a table in the 1st place). You can do small plates in the bar. They keep it old school. Sadly, fine dining has waned, and at least once a night they coat room has to issue a jacket to someone.

Machine like knowledgeable service. Sommelier was very nice and our servers were helpful. The place is decorated simply well, and the mural is an indicator of the treasures of the sea you will taste

4 courses for $135

Almost Raw 1st courses

Geoduck - Thinly Shaved “Giant Clam”; Lemon Confit, Piquillo Pepper, Baby Zucchini, Pesto Broth; thin shaving and the broth softens a notoriously tough item

Fluke - Slivers of Fluke; “Wasabi-Nori Crisp”, Soy-Black Pepper Vinaigrette, light, fresh and the seaweed gave a texture to match the thin slices

Mesclun salad - Salad of the Day’s Market Herbs and Vegetables with Balsamic – Shallot Vinaigrette...parents loved it...as much as you can love a salad

Barely touched 2nd course

Langoustine - Sautéed Langoustine; Truffle and Chanterelle, Aged Balsamic Vinaigrette, flavors from the sauces rounded out any mineral taste

Surf and turf - Roasted Bone Marrow and Sea Urchin; Pickled Onions, Capers, Bacon Crisp...there may not be a more decadent dish i've ever had. succulent and soft

Lightly cooked 3rd course

Merluza (hake) - Sautéed Merluza; Turnip and Foie Gras “Sandwich”, Herb Salad, Persian Lime-Foie Gras Sauce, perfectly cooked and a blast of flavor. cod like. the lime foie gras was a mix of depth and citrus that i've never had

Black Bass - Crispy Black Bass; Roasted Shishitos and Kabocha Squash “Ceviche”, Peruvian Chicha Sauce...buttery and flaky with some spice

Dessert

CHOCOLATE MILLE-FEUILLE - Caramelized Phyllo, Thyme Gelée, Salted Milk Chocolate Ice cream, she liked it very much

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Le Bernardin is about a dining experience in my opinion they deliver it well. Interesting food done well. We went before a Broadway show and the wait staff paid special attention to make sure we got to enjoy our meal and did not feel rushed. Everything I had on the tasting menu was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bernardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.