We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find near my Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Becco

Becco
355 W 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 397-7597
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Becco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #842 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street N/Q/W - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A nice find near my Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I little bit busy and noisy, so don't plan a romantic night here. But it's a nice place anyway. Don't miss the Parmiggiana!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    582
    231
    98
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Row Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been to Becco a few times now, but this is my first review of the restaurant. Every time I have visited it's been wonderful. Sometimes, I wasn't able to get a reservation, but other times we just walked in and had no problem getting a seat. The food has always been very good as was the service. I have always taken advantage of the nice selection of wines under $25. We all like the pasta "symphony", but my husband raved about the osso bucco as well. I have been to other restaurant row choices and found them "fine" but the food was not as good as this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT food, service and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the real thing. Joe Bastianich delivers delicious Italian food at affordable prices. Same owner as top rated Babbo and Del Posto. Love this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not very special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here on our 2nd night in NYC and we were lucky we booked a table. Many people were waiting and we got a seat within 5 minutes.

The antipasti was not entirely very fresh and the pastas were lumpy. Overall nothing out of the ordinary but i suppose we were asking too much, having ate superb italian in Rome and Venice recently...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

While on a business trip, the concierge at the Westin Times Square suggested that I could find many excellent restaurants on West 46th street, otherwise known as Restaurant Row so I walked a few blocks until I saw two couples looking at an outdoor menu in front of Becco. I asked if they knew about this place and was told that this is a Lidia restaurant. That was all I had to hear and I said, "I'm in". I was excited to be here because I love Italian cuisine and Lidia is one of the most beloved Italian chefs.

Although it was only 5 PM, Becco was starting to fill up. It is a cozy, feel good place and the waitstaff is outstanding.

Raif, my waiter, recommended Sinfonia di Paste, one of their signature dishes. I started with Antipasto Misto, an assortment of marinated and grilled vegetables and seafood - fabulous. This was followed by three pasta dishes that included mushroom ravioli, bowtie pasta with littleneck clams in a spicy marinara sauce, and a lasagna that was amazing.

I was quite impressed because several waiters came by at different times to ask if I wanted more of the pasta dishes. I was unaware that my selection included unlimited table side service!! The best part is the price . . . $22.95 for the antipasto and main entree.

I am having withdrawal symptoms as I write this review because I can still taste the delicious food at Becco - great experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becco also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Becco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.