We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food not touristy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benito One

Benito One
174 Mulberry St., Frnt A, New York City, NY 10013 (Little Italy)
+1 212-226-9171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #478 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food not touristy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Small place but really good Italian - our table had calimari app (very lightly breaded and very tasty), osso bucco (OUTSTANDING), veal parm and the special ravioli (4 cheese). All were served hot and tasted great. Prices were good. Considering the number of places along Mulberry St hawking to get folks to come in, this tiny place was packed. I would strongly suggest a reservation!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
PANancyM,
I am finally getting around to answer all the reviews from the holidays. Thank you so much.

Sincerely
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    73
    25
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“In My Mind, This is One of the Few Excellent Italian Restaurants in Little Italy; I Eat Here Every Stay Near Lita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As you may likely well already know, there are, on and near Mulberry Street in Little Italy (aka Lita), a rather large number of Italian restaurants that feature lousy service, lousy food, and exhorbitant prices. This is not one of those restaurants. Rather, this small Italian restaurant, located a few doors north of Grand St. on Mulberry is one of the rather small number of Italian restaurants in Little Italy/Lita that is excellent. The serving staff is attentive and polite, and the menu is wide and appealing, and, finally, the quality of the food is excellent! Finally, the menu prices are reasonable, which is not true for a growing number of Italian restaurants in Little Italy.

On each of my stays in lower Manhattan (and I stay in lower Manhattan from 3 to 4 times per year, on average), I make sure to eat dinner here at least once each stay, for the service, food quality and atmosphere are always guaranteed to be excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hey Vinny,
Gracie!!!!

Sincerely
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We returned from a trip to NYC a week ago and ate at several restaurants in Little Italy. Benito One was our favorite and we will definitely eat there again when we get back to NY. It's a small restaurant so a reservation is a great idea. We forgot to make one but Jim the owner was so accommodating when another party did not show up for theirs. The food is excellent (Caesar salad, homemade stuffed shells, Cavatelli, etc.), the prices are very reasonable, and Jim and the staff are warm, funny, attentive and delightful folks to chat with and ask for recommendations. We loved the atmosphere, the service was perfect and no one rushed us through dinner. It was what we were looking for. You can't beat it ! Thank you !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear NH,
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. hope you come back soon.

sincerely
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Worths the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Although we had to wait for more than 30 min we did not regret it. The Veal Saltimbocca and the four cheese ravioli were superb. Great value for money. Staff is very frendly and kind. We'll definitely come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Bernardo,
please forgive me for not answering you sooner. But now that all the holidays are over I can answer all the reviews. Thank you for such a great write up. Hope you are havine a great New Year.

Sincerely
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Atmosphere charming, service very good. Prices reasonable and food delicious! Best meatballs EVER! Met Jimmy the owner and his sister Mary Ann who made us feel like we were at Sunday dinner

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Meg,
My sister says hello and thank you for a great review. I'm glad you had a good time here. Hope to see you again,

Sincerely
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benito One also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benito One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benito One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.