We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benito One

Benito One
174 Mulberry St., Frnt A, New York City, NY 10013 (Little Italy)
(212) 226-9171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #631 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Little Italy
michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My cousin and I along with our kids ate here for lunch last week. A friendly Italian outside told us it was the best restaurant in Little Italy! (turned out to be the owner) All of us thought it was probably the best meal we had during our week stay in NYC. Our waiter, Joe, was fantastic. We ordered the lunch special for 12.95 which was 3 courses and each course just got better and better! It was fun watching the owner make the giant meatballs.

Thanks James for welcoming us in! We look forward to returning on our next visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Kim,
Wow!!!!! what a great review. It's because of people like you that make my job worth while. I can't thank you enough. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    73
    25
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“No need for dinner! We were stuffed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came to NYC for the day, to tour downtown and pay tribute to the 911 Memorial. Benito one is an intimate restaurant offering great food and atmosphere. The wait staff was friendly and the owner was a very nice person. 3 of us ordered the lunch special, and the other 2 ordered the pasta. All of us ate enough food that we didn't eat dinner until we returned to PA at 8:00 at night. The Caesar Salad & Chocolate Cannoli were so delicious my 15 year old talked about them both the entire day. Little Italy is a great place to dine while in NYC ~ and Benito One is a restaurant we will revisit when back in the greatest City on Earth :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We have plenty of chocolate cannoli's for your return trip.

Sincerely
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While on vacation in NY we came across Benito One while walking through Little Italy. We were warmly greeted at the door and seated immediately. There were four of us. We started with a fried mozzarella in a marinara sauce appetizer which was great. For entrees we had chicken parmigiana, lobster ravioli and lasagna. The food was simple but delicious. There are many Italian restaurants to choose from in Little Italy. We were glad we chose this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Mark,
thank you for such a great review. Hope to see you again.
Happy Holidays to you and your family

Sincerely
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredibly lucky find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My friend and I were walking around China Town and Little Italy. We turned onto Mulberry St. looking for a good restaurant. Fortunately, we chose Benito One. It is a small restaurant with a decor right out of Italy. We had the fixed price lunch ($12.95) three courses. Each one better than the last. My friend lives in Manhattan and planned to take her husband back there this week. My lunch at Benito One was one the best meals I had in NYC Thanksgiving week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Atlanta Lady,
I couldn't ask for a better review, thank you
Happy Holiday

Sincerely

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple, traditional Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Out of the many restaurants in Little Italy, it was hard to choose. We saw a rating on the window of Benito One, checked the menu, and decided to give it a shot. It was my mom's first trip to NY and we were definitely impressed. When you walk in, the place looks simple and like nothing special. It was a pretty slow night as it was earlier in the evening, but we saw the owner sitting at one of the tables talking to someone. The server was very friendly and attentive. We started with a sampler platter to share and it was amazing. Then, I ordered one of the chicken dishes they are known for. It was a huge dish, but well worth it! I ate as much as I could and took the rest home to have the next day. All in all, great food, great service, and we were impressed. The only thing that threw us was that it was somewhat empty in side and definitely a bit old in style.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Benito One, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Calibeck,
I hope after reading your review more people will come in. Thank you. Happy
Holiday.

Sincerely
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benito One also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benito One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benito One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.