We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, not very good service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loreley

Loreley
7 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)
(212) 253-7077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,572 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
Chico, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good beer, not very good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The beer is good at this place, but we did not care for the food and the server was rude. When the meals arrived at our table, one of the meals was incorrect. The waiter was a bit angry about this -- like we should have just taken it. The rest of the group was about finished eating and the meal still had not arrived. We asked the waiter and he just started laughing about it with another co-worker. NOT GOOD. The meal finally arrived, but this event left a bad taste in our mouth.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    12
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely service, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ducked in here for 'just a quick drink' after dinner on our way back to our hotel next door. Three hours later.....
We didn't eat here, but the menu looked interesting. Our varied beverage tastes (beer/wine/spirits) were all catered for. The bar staff were charming and great fun, and the bar tab made us question whether we were actually in NYC (i.e. very reasonable). It wasn't playing obnoxiously loud music, so the noise was just convivial chatter. A nice spot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Schnitzels Great Beer Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Fresh food all my friends eat meat and were very happy, I'm a vegetarian and was able to find yummy red kraut, potato pancakes and cucumber salad... the beer is fantastic and the ambiance is great. We love this place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great German place by the New Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stumbled upon Lorely while heading to the New Museum. After walking around the city, we needed refreshment. Found the Loreley, had a few beers before heading to the museum. Good selection of German beers, and the menu looked great, although we didn't try the food. The back outdoor patio was packed, and we sat at the bar in front, having the place to ourselves. We thought about returning after having gone to the New Museum around the corner, but found the place packed at that time. Good beer and friendly staff, but busy at certain times. Would recommend to anyone looking for authentic German beer and food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good German food on Manhattan's Lower East Side.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

German restaurants in Manhattan are a rarity so I was particularly interested in trying this one, even though it was a little bit "off the beaten path" for me. The Loreley claims to be one of few German restaurants here that caters to the "under-fifty crowd". I presume this is to more clearly differentiate itself from some of the last remaining "original" German restaurants in the Yorkville section of Manhattan, around 86th Street. Those restaurants, many of which have closed their doors in recent years, met the culinary needs of German-speaking Manhattanites for many decades.

The Loreley is a simple, attractive, contemporary restaurant. It features brick walls and has little or no decoration of any sort. I think the restaurant might benefit from some visual embellishment on the interior walls, perhaps contemporary photos of Germany ... at least something. Otherwise it's just too "neutral" for me and, after all, it's German not Swiss! There is a bar area in the front, seating in the front and back, and a small outdoor garden area with tables beyond that which fufills the "Biergarten" portion of the description.

I headed over here for a quick lunch while running about town on business. I was the first person in the restaurant, for an early lunch. I tried the Weisswurst platter and a potato pancake. The Weisswurst was served traditional style and with sweet mustard. The potato pancake or Kartoffelpuffer (just one) was served with applesauce on the side. Both were good, although I would probably try the currywurst or one of their more elaborate meals such as a Wiener Schnitzel on a return visit. The single potato pancake was very good, although a bit pricey, I thought, at $4.00.

The service (just one person during this early lunch time frame) was easygoing and friendly. There was some music coming from the font of the restaurant, although in the back, where I was seated, I could only hear the radio from (I presume) the kitchen. It was tuned to a Spanish-language station.

The small outdoor garden in the back was sunny and pleasant during my visit, although still a bit chilly on a windy March day. I think this could be a fun place to visit with friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loreley also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Loreley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loreley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.