We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, just as good as I remembered it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio - CLOSED

Il Fornaio
132 Mulberry St Ste A, New York City, NY 10013-5551 (Little Italy)
(212) 226-8306
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Gateshead
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, just as good as I remembered it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We visited New York several years ago and had a couple of great meals at this restaurant. I am pleased to say that it is as good as ever. Choosing a restaurant on Mulberry Street can be overwhelming, so it is good to have a name in mind when you go there. The gnocchi are out of this world as are the bracciola and the lobster pasta. The staff are really nice and not pushy like some in other Mulberry Street restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Little Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We walked through Little Italy where we had lunch at Il Fornaio . We sat outside on a Saturday & loved watching the people walk past & the other waiters try & coax people into their restaurants. I had a tuna sandwich & my wife had a margarita pizza. Both were really tasty. We really enjoyed the 3 old native New Yorker men who were also sitting outside beside us & our visit with them. A good choice for Little Italy

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unlisted, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I traveled to Little Italy for some good food and was not disappointed. This property served up some great food consisting of homemade and fresh pasta and sauce.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian in Litte Italy (surprisingly hard to find)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

It is not new news that italian food in Little Italy is more of the same americanized quasi-italian you can find almost everywhere else in the US. Acid tomato sauces, overcooked and flavorless pasta, and semi-raw steaks... Think cheap chain italian (Carrabas) and you get the picture. This is almost the norm in LI.

Il Fornaio however, seems to be the exception, with simple yet very well excecuted dishes. Our three courses were perfectly cooked, al-dente but not undercooked, with just the right amount of sauce and the expected flavor. Our calamari appetizer was great, with just enough batter and not dripping in fry oil.

If any, I would suggest bread could have been fresher (sat down at a not very American 3:15 pm for lunch, bread felt a bit 7 am-ish), and parmesan cheese could definitely improve if freshly shredded instead of dehydrated/ground.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza - go for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

They don't serve pizza for dinner. We had the "bianca" (no tomato sauce). Wonderful! (Of course, the pastas and soups are great, too.)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.