We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paris Cafe

The Paris Cafe
119 South Street, New York City, NY 10038-2014 (Financial District)
+1 212-240-9797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Paris Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Financial District
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have ended at The Paris Cafe ocasionally. The South Street Seaport area nowadays is not very attractive to tourists, once its infrastructure was affected by the recent hurricane (Oct 2012). The restaurant is an oasis, with warm environment and cold beer. The Clam Chowder is unforgetable. Fish and Chips perfectly made. And you should not leave the place without try the Cheesecake with Blueberries. A very good choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Public Relations Manager at The Paris Cafe, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you so much for coming in to The Paris Cafe! We are so happy you came down and enjoyed your food (the Fish and Chips is one of my favorites too) and your time here. We hope to see you back soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Paris Cafe is a wonderful pub/restaurant in the South Street Seaport area. They have good food, great drinks and a wonderful atmosphere - all served with a smile by the friendly staff. Great for a burger, or a more substantial meal anytime you find yourself down by the seaport.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Public Relations Manager at The Paris Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for coming into The Paris Cafe and for your lovely comments! We hope to see you back soon. Don't miss our Grand Re-Opening Party, May 24th! We will be celebrating the 131st Birthday of the Brooklyn Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Food was amazing! It was a really pretty cafe with a bar and dining area. Great place to stop for lunch. Big and varied menu and very friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Public Relations Manager at The Paris Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for coming into The Paris Cafe - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Rappenau, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food - A must go when you are in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stopped at this café to get some hot drinks as it was damn cold in New York by end of March and South Street Seaport area is still under renovation after the hurricane one year ago. They will serve you tea or coffee in nice porcelain cups. The food was very delicious. We were really surprised as we did not expect that. The pricing was really fair. We all know New York is damn expensive city. Make a rest a this nice café. It is worth!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Public Relations Manager at The Paris Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments about The Paris Cafe and thanks for coming in! It has been cold but it's warm now and we would love to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Was in New York for a long weekend. Stayed at the Seaport Inn which is across the street from the Paris Café. I had made reservations, prior to leaving for New York, and wanted someplace close to the hotel. I felt good that the hotel staff suggested the Paris Café immediately. They were right! from the moment we walked in it was a great experience. We were greeted by Annette and taken to our table. We were undecided on what beer we wanted to drink and Annette brought out 5 large samples for us to try. When she returned to take our drink order she brought with her 2 glasses of wine to "try out". The food was also fantastic. Appetizers like fried calamari and an order of lobster mac and cheese were amazing. Main courses of fish and chips and braised lamb shank were also fantastic. Sam, our waiter, was always checking on us but was never a nuisance. I can't say enough about how good this restaurant and staff were. From speaking with Annette and Sam I understand that they are still recovering from Hurricane Sandy. If this weekend is any indication? They are definitely on the right track.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Public Relations Manager at The Paris Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello and Thank you for coming into The Paris Cafe! We really appreciate your kind comments and are so happy you enjoyed yourselves. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paris Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Paris Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paris Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.