We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Gitane

Cafe Gitane
242 Mott St, Frnt 2, New York City, NY 10012-3434 (Manhattan)
212-334-9552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,716 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's a very
nice place for chatting with friends and eating deliciuos food. Very simple and adorable, I suggest to try the maroccan cous-cous with veggie and hummus! The best I ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    83
    18
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best for brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I like this quirky small restaurant on Mott Street it's my new favorite for brunch. The baked eggs with chorizo are amazing and the ultimate hangover cure. It's taken a while to click that we had eaten at the other location in the Jane hotel, I'd choose Mott street every time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Exotic surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Cool atmosphere friendly people exotic still delicious food we just walked by and find a table outside had some summer beers tried new flavours good prices excelent surprise

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adorable little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I love Gitane more than words can say. The cafe is beautiful, the food is lovely. The bread in particular is amazing, especially with the avocado and chilli on top. The carrot and orange blossom salad is light and fresh. The little red checked napkins are charming. It is also very well priced. I'd eat here forever.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,759 reviews 1,759 reviews
695 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 333 cities Reviews in 333 cities
918 helpful votes 918 helpful votes
“Cash only, rude staff. Other location is better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Cons: cash only, terrible service, very small and crowded, food in the other location is much better.
I appreciated more the other location (113 Jane St) than this one. First of all it's cash only which is annoying. Specially because this is not a cheap place.
Then is very small and the staff is not nice. And I enjoyed better the food in the other location. Check my review and pics.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gitane also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Gitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Gitane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.