We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food, bad service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Public

Public
210 Elizabeth Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)
(212) 343-7011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Public is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,883 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Asian, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Spring and Prince
Transit: 6,N & R train
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant new American cuisine, creative and of quality, but what a poor service. A one star Michelin restaraunt can not allow itself such an inattentive attitude (Mike).

Try the grilles scallops as a starter, the state of the art venison, and the amazing chocolate mousse.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    95
    42
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfection marred by noise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The menu was interesting and the meal, Chefs tasting Menu was one of the best I've ever had! The cucumber gazpacho was sublime! Not only the flavors but also the way it felt in my mouth. The crunch and the underlying flavor of almonds made it one of the best I've ever tasted. Pure genius! The next two courses also rocked my world, followed by a dessert capped by Armagnac ice cream. I dream of that toffee pudding and ice cream! Service was fine. Now the two detriments. The bartender doesn't know how to make a martini...very watery! A Cosmo slipped by even though they had no cranberry juice. At $14. A drink they should have been good and served in proper martini glasses! Not so. The food is serious but the noise level and horrible music were a serious distraction! How about an old farts section where it is quiet??

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Public was very average. The food was just fine, the menu was short and a little weird, and the service was not bad, but off. I found a lot of quirks of the service to be irritating. For example, they do not give you straws with any beverage (soda, cocktail, water) and seem annoyed if you request one. When we ordered Grey Goose vodka, the bartender said he didn't have it and pushed some really strange vodka on us as an alternative. We got it and it was gross...and come to find out, they have every other brand of top shelf vodka, so he should have given us those options instead of pretending like he only had one kind. Our waitress looked like she just rolled out of bed. I don't mean to be rude, but the outfit, hair, etc. was really sloppy and didn't seem professional. She also seemed annoyed by our questions about the menu and very rushed every time she came to the table.
The ambiance is nice, but there are a million other places in this neighborhood with the same atmosphere and better food and service. Try Peasant (a few doors down) instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brunch with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had Brunch here late on a Saturday morning and had a fabulous experience. There is a fantastic vibe about the place and whilst we didn't have a reservation we were sat at the bar to enjoy a drink whilst a table came available. The food was very good, a standard brunch type menu but with a twist to evidence the undoubted skills in the kitchen. A great way to spend a leisurely weekend brunch. We would love to return for dinner another time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Trek and Make sure you share your plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Decided last minute to go to dinner with a friend while in NYC. A Friend mentioned they had a great selection of Australian Wine and that the Sommelier is a young and well traveled. So why not.

We has pre dinner drink next door in the Library which was fun and then the host came and escorted us to our table. A little history lesson on the way to our table was great and the building is certainly fascinating.

Look at the Unique Wines section and you'll find some true gems. We chose the Verdhlo from Chapel HIll, McLaren Vale, Australia which was perfectly paired with a shared appetizer of Grilled Kangaroo on a Coriander Falafel - and cooked perfectly for a non-Australian Chef. I had the Roasted Cod which was subtle but upfront with with delicious smoked uni cream, and my friend has the Fish Special which came a sweet potato biscuit that was to die for. We finished our meal with the selection of Spanish Artisan Cheeses and a local Viognier from Long Island NYC, which was actually very good.

I suggest to pick a few appetizers and share them with your group it's worth to taste something different. Also there tasting menus (which our table neighbors had) which look exciting and tasty. So if you are feeling adventurous, do that !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Public, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.