We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Public

Public
210 Elizabeth Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Manhattan)
(212) 343-7011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Public is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,961 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Asian, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Spring and Prince
Transit: 6,N & R train
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Loved our dinner here. Had the tasting menu which had 5 courses for $75. Nice variety - scallops, mushrooms, boar, venison...

We also added the brussel sprouts which were very nice.

The restaurant is cramped and noisy.

Service was great - very attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    95
    43
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excelent food to much noice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice food and service - but the noice from music - took the Whole pleasure away.
There is truely a big difference on European Michelin and US Michelin restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, service - loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Public on its first night open after Hurricane Sandy - so there was only a set menu available - but the food and service were impeccable. Our waiter was knowledgeable, attentive, yet un-intrusive. The menu, whilst limited to three options per course - was great value and the food was cooked to perfection. I'd love to go back and try the full a la carte at some point - but in the meantime I'd thoroughly recommend this as a great, happening place to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth it for the crispy brussel sprouts. Truly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been twice, and without a reservation sat at the bar for dinner both times. It's a busy place. My husband "hates" brussel sprouts, but we both devoured them over wine as an appetizer. Unusual and interesting combinations on the menu, good for foodies. Reservations recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truffled baba ganoush...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

the veggie dish off the daily menu was out of this world tasty, artfully plated, and paired with a truffled baba ganoush dipping sauce..yum! regret not going with a bigger appetite to order off the main dinner menu

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Public, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.