We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top grade for Hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scalini Fedeli

Scalini Fedeli
165 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013
(212) 528-0400
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scalini Fedeli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hudson
Transit: Chambers St
Description: Scalini Fedeli ranked among New York's finest restaurants since its opening in early 2004, taking Italian cuisine to new heights. Rewarded with the highest overall ratings in the Zagat Survey, Scalini Fedeli has been granted one star by the Michelin guide in it's inaugural 2006 issue. The inviting decor features vaulted ceilings and European antiques and provides the perfect setting for chef Michael Cetrulo's delightful cuisine which offers the finest ingredients coupled with a confidence and grace that ensures your meal will be a memorable one. Menu highlights include soft egg yolk raviolo with ricotta and truffle butter and New York's finest venison chop in a port wine and balsamic vinegar sauce with toasted hazelnuts, sauteed spinach and roasted Mission figs. The 350-bottle wine list encompasses all regions of Italy but also does justice to the best American wineries.
freeport
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top grade for Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I recently dined at Scalini with a few good friends and thoroughly enjoyed my experience! We arrived separately and were all greeted with a warm welcome and made to feel at home. The menu drew upon fresh, artisanal products and included some interesting homemade pasta selections. I ordered the butternut agnolini with brown butter sauce- wonderful earthy, al dente, delicate and light. My dining partners also loved the soft egg yolk ravioli with truffles.
The entrees were served with precise timing and temp, outstanding!
The dining room was busy yet allowed for easy conversation at or table. We leisurely enjoyed our meal and conversation.
Amuse, sorbet, delicate confections, and cordials were served complimentary in addition to our 3 course prix fix.
Overall, this was a fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    41
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we had in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After reading the reviews to this restaurant, I decided to make a reservation as a suprise for my husband.
All I can say is that we had indeed a wonderful experience, everything from the attentive waiter to the exquisite food was without fault. Actually, the only fault I could find is that the food was much more than we could eat. We had the prix fix menu of three courses and, between the meals, we also received some complementary small dishes from the chef. From the beginning till the end, everything was perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Very nice place for formal meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This restaurant really worth. The food and the serevice are excelent, they have a good wine list but the decoration and the atmosphere are very formal, only with old people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The old world atmosphere is charming and when paired with the staff's attention to detail, this place sets the standard for fine dining. The menu contains a wide variety of great traditional Italian fare with some unique added touches. We had a great early evening dinner after a Broadway matinee. We did not want to deal with the frantic atmosphere of the midtown scene so we hopped on the subway and headed to TriBeCa. Fortunately we had made reservations as the restaurant was filled. We enjoyed the braised beef short ribs and Parmesan crusted pork chop with a bottle of Taurasi wine. What a great evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well the first thing that i noticed was that when we were led into the dining room, the maitre'd actually asked us which of 3 tables we would prefer. .by the window, in quiet corner and one another. I can't say how much i appreciated that since i tend to be a "table switcher". ! So we sat down and were offered one of four types of rolls and delicious olive oil, ordered wine, , had a wonderful ravioli type of amuse bouche, then dinner, prixe fix menu of three courses. I had the egg yolk raviolo, arctic char (held the crabmeat) and my husband had the snapper for his main course. Cant recall what his appetizer was, but like my food, it was delicious. The egg yolk raviolo was amazing! Dessert was chocolate for me, sorbet for him. Actually, we got some complimentary tiny pastries before our ordered desserts as wel. From start to finish, wonderful and easy. Attentive waiter even brought club soda when he saw my husband dabbing at spots on his shirt..totally enjoyed this restaurant. Food, service, table comfort and ambiance lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Fedeli also viewed

 

Been to Scalini Fedeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scalini Fedeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.