We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BURGERS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benvenuto Cafe - CLOSED

Benvenuto Cafe
2 E 23rd St, New York City, NY 10010-4401 (Flatiron District)
212-614-7224
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Vermonville, New York, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT BURGERS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were just passing by and stopped in for an early lunch. What a wonderful surprise! The burgers were so good! You could tell they were handmade patties and perfectly grilled. Even the gentleman at the next table commented that he wished he had ordered a burger.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice place to go for brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great salad bar, homemade cookies and bread! i had madison burger but that was not that spicy. the patty was extremely thick! nice brunch menu, delicious milk shake!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Had just a quick drink, but no problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I can't say much about this restaurant because we only stopped for a smoothie while waiting for a family member to meet up. The smoothies were expensive (like any smoothie, especially in New York City), but came from a varied list of delicious options. You can order here or self-serve at a counter of pastry sorts. They are serious about not letting non-customers use their washrooms; the lady at the counter told a man from the street that the washroom wasn't working in order to make him leave, then when I said that my sister had used it, she told me that it was working fine but she just didn't want the man to use the washroom.

Our waitress wasn't the friendliest, and of course a tip on top of the ridiculous smoothie prices made our quick stop for five people $40!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It was OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My sister, niece and I ate here after watching a play. We had walked a long way on a hot day, so we settled on this place after we couldn't walk anymore. Benvenuto Cafe looks more like a take out place, actually. There were tables far in the back and no one pointed to us the way to go.
While they did have a decent sized menu, I could have had their ravioli anywhere, and the pasta alfredo my niece had looked bland and she did not finish it. The place wasn't terrible, but not one I would be be desperate to return to. Service was average--it took quite a while for the waitress to come and refill my iced tea glass.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We happened across this place and were in need of breakfast, like most places in New York, if you do not immediately know what to order then you get treated as a second class. We ordered our breakfast and they wanted a tip for ordering, i tipped a dollar and got the cold shoulder, the only service we had was they passed our meals over the counter to us, if you want to call passing two hot plates across a counter a service, and then we found a hair in the meals. When showing them the hair they pretended not to see it and were not even apologetic, AVOID!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benvenuto Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benvenuto Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.