We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant; wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
41 E 22nd St, New York City, NY 10010
(212) 674-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park and Broadway
Transit: 6, N/R trains to 23rd Street
Description: Owner Avtar Walia and Executive Chef Raji have come together to open an elegant and modern Indian restaurant with dishes not seen at other Indian restaurants. Children Facilities - No (High Chair or booster seat not available, Strollers must be checked in)
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant; wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Started with drinks at the bar -- cocktail selection was very good; I enjoyed a Ginger Bellini. The bartender was appropriately attentive and very nice.

We had dinner in one of the booths on the perimeter of the restaurant which has a contemporary Indian vibe. I thought it was a beautiful setting. The staff was very courteous and made helpful suggestions to round out our meal. The wine list was robust. Lamb vindaloo was amazing -- delicious and spicy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    165
    96
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife, brother and sister-in-law went here on March 2nd. we were greeted at the door with smiles and a pleasant atmosphere. They handed us lavender scented towels as we sat down. The service was phenomenal from then on. We were never left lacking.
This is Indian food at its finest. I have not had any authentic Indian food that was this good! Highly recommend going.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Another amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have been here a few times now, just went again the other night...let me say again, this place is great. Best Indian food I have had. The service was great, the food had a controllable mix of heat and flavor . Drinks kept flowing. Chicken curry...second to none. Nan was bottomless, and I tried to keep it empty. Lamb was extremely flavorful. Best desserts ever. Really, second to none. Love the fact the owner comes out and makes sure all are doing well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Have been there 30+ times...and never been disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant is an example of how every restaurant should be operated. Owner is always supervising the staff, greeting the guests and adding his personal touch. Since 2004 we have been there both for professional dinners and personal occasions and food as well as services have never disappointed us. Its a happening place with moderate noise, busy at all times. Lahsuni gobi (cabbage), Samosas, and hara bhara kabab are excellent vege appetizers. Lamb is a fantastic non-veg appetizer. Mahi-mahi and Nargisi Koftas for main course will lead to utmost satisfaction. Naans are fresh backed that you can watch chefs make using Tandoors (Indian oven). Finishing touches with masala chai and any of their fresh appetizers would be great. One of the best Indian restaurants in NYC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“India in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent meal, wonderful service, reasonable price, and good decor. We were a party of five seated in a semi-circular booth which facilitates conversation. For dessert, we shared an assortment of chocolates. Perfect solution to end the meal on a sweet note. A definite recommendation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.