We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm still thinking about my sundae” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen
35 E. 18th St., New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)
212-475-5829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
ABC Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Broadway & Park Avenue South
Transit: L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6 to Union Square
Description: ABC Kitchen with Jean-Georges: passionately committed to offering the freshest organic and local ingredients possible. ABC Kitchen presents a changing menu that is locally sourced and globally artistic in a fresh and articulate space.
Calgary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I'm still thinking about my sundae”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I loved our lazy pre-fixe lunch at this place. The food was tasty (although we both felt it was very salty) and I love a good pre-fixe with friend to share. My dessert was a salted caramel ice cream sundae with caramel popcorn and chocolate covered peanuts on it - such decadence I haven't even considered for years and it really made my day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    231
    63
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Noisy bar scene but dining area very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I wasn't feeling well when we went there, but my sister says that the asparagus, ramps, morel appetizer was one of the best thing she has ever eaten!. My house made ricotta was creamy and delicious, the fiddlehead ferns unmemorable. As usual we both preferred the starters to the main course, but the atmosphere was pleasant. Got our 7.15pm reservation on Open Table 30 days out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Snuck into lunch at bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Impossible to get a reservation but always have luck eating at the bar. Wonderful food with choices for everyone and great drink list. Service at the bar was outstanding. The tuna sashimi was outstanding and scrambled eggs with crispy oysters was an unusual combination that became an instant favorite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“How unflexible can you be?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked a party of 4 for brunch a week in advance. 2 days before we asked to add 1 person to the reservation. They added a note but when it came to the date it was not possible. Geez. How difficult is it to accommodate 1 extra person at a table??? Service is also about having a bit of flexibility... Ended up going elsewhere and won't be coming back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Worse Mananagement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ate with customers yesterday, who has 3 hours for lunch? sat a1pm and main course did not arrive until 2:10pm, price fix full menu, did not have time for desert and server could not understand frustration as had to leave. Asked for adjustment from manager and removed small amount and she told me she wished that she knew there was a problem, she is the manager should be aware when you have a table of 6 and they are sitting w/o food for 45min there is a problem, they were not that busy. Could not recommend and would advise stay away unless you have all day to kill. Stars: 2 for food, 4 for ambiance 0 for management and customer service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to ABC Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.