We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory, but ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Novita
102 East 22nd Street, Ste 2, New York City, NY 10010 (Gramercy Park)
212-677-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Novita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,499 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gramercy Park
Cross street: Park Avenue South
Transit: 6, R & W trains to 23rd Street.
Description: Novita is a vibrant 60-seat trattoria serving a seasonally inspired, modern Italian menu. Chef owner Marco Fregonese’s innovative take on classical, regional cooking begins with the finest, artisan ingredients and freshest, seasonal products. His distinctive light and flavorful dishes are pure and satisfying and perfectly complemented by a select list of wines from superb Italian specialty and boutique growers. Novita is located a few steps down from a quiet tree lined street in the Gramercy Park neighborhood. The setting is warm and elegant and the mood quintessentially Italian. In pleasant weather, sidewalk, alfresco dining is offered further adding to Novita’s year round appeal.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfactory, but ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had walked by for years, and always wanted to have a special dinner there. The food was fine, the service fine, the atmosphere and decor fine; but sadly nothing to write home about. And it is fairly expensive, so for a certain and sure thing, I would recommend dinner with Aunt Sally, but for a wow, something twinkling and special, there is better to be had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Delicious pasta, great friendly service, always accommodating. Very cozy atmosphere.
We love to come here on late Saturday nights after a comedy show at the Stand, sometimes just for antipasti and wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very satisfactory meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been to lunch three times at Novita and found good food and cocktails each time. My friend and I usually share a salad, entree, and dessert, but our own drinks. All of the food has been fine. The restaurant is fairly small, NOT NOISY, and the service is attentive and polite. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbury park, new jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Every time I've been to Novita, the food has been delicious and the service has been wonderful. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming. It is located on 22nd Street just off Park Avenue South. The space is small but feels special. Every dish I've had has been remarkably fresh and tastes like you're Italian grandmother went and had a fine dining cooking class. I recently met a friend for lunch and we shared the WARM goat cheese salad with rucola and walnut vinaigrette. It wasn't just really good. It was sublime and presently so differently than anywhere else I've had that type of salad. For my entree, I had the pesto with homemade pasta. It was so fresh and delicious! I didn't have dessert this trip, but I have in the past and they are fantastic. The service, as always, was attentive, informative and caring. I highly recommend Novita for lunch or dinner. You'll love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ney York
1 review
“Awful Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I went here for what we thought would be a wonderful valentines day lunch. The service was awful and the server was angry when asked about main entree selections. He even tried to argue in the middle of this tiny little restaurant. I have gone to hundreds of restaurants in the city and this is the worst service by far.

With 40,000 + restaurants in the city...go someplace else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novita also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Novita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.