We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappointing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
42 E 20th St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10003-1300
212-477-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gramercy Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to two decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves prix-fixe menus starting at $92 for dinner and an a la carte menu for lunch, and accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, and welcomes guests on a walk-in basis. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Disappointing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Gramercy Tavern is always our big New York dinner splurge when we visit. Yes, it is pricey, but it has never disappointed us. Our server was darling and attentive. The food was excellent and with all of the "extras" they provided, we left more than satiated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    354
    138
    37
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very nice dinner with a high price tag. Dinner and a few drinks for 4 came in at around $900. Would return again but not until I get my next pay check. Excellent service and staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, felt neglected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a three-hour dinner at Gramercy Tavern with my daughter. The food was excellent---we had the vegetable tasting menu---and the ambiance was lovely. However, we seemed to wait forever between courses (45 minutes to get dessert after the previous course). It felt as though the server forgot us amid the business of the evening. Not being rushed is one thing, waiting 45 minutes for dessert is another. By the time we got our dessert we just wanted to leave and go to bed. The secondary serving staff was wonderful and attentive, but we were never asked whether our food was okay or if we liked it! Luckily, we did! For over $350 for two people, it would have been nice to have a little more attention!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must when visiting NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food, great ambience, attentive staff and even spotted a few celebs! I'd suggest this venue over anywhere else in NYC. For three courses and drinks our bill was $129... Almost a steal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good but not worthy a Michelin Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Call me posh or european old style, but the Gramercy Tavern Dining Room is not what I expect of a Michelin Star Restaurant. For a business diner it might be alright, because in many ways the restaurant is like New York - big, noisy and always buys - but for a nice, romantic holiday dinner for two, it is not my cup of coffee.

The food - we had the seasonal dinner tasting menu on a Tuesday evening - is good and well prepared with very selected ingredients. But we had not one dish that was oustanding or even somewhat surprising (the halibut was almost tasteless) and even for this class of restaurant, the size of the dishes was small. On the plus side: For New York it was almost cheap.

The service was nice and friendly, but had to many tables to attend to. And also the recommended New York Sauvignon blanc was very good, it was surprising that no wine pairing for the menu was offered

So taken into account the price of the menu and the aspirations of the restaurant, it was sadly only average

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.