We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice In The Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
42 E 20th St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10003-1300
212-477-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gramercy Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to two decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves prix-fixe menus starting at $92 for dinner and an a la carte menu for lunch, and accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, and welcomes guests on a walk-in basis. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Top Choice In The Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Gramercy Tavern is our first choice for dining in the Gramercy/Flatiron area. The dining room is warm and relaxing and the service is superior. We usually select the seasonal tasting menu, but decided to order from the menu. I had potato soup and the best lamb dish I've had in years. Jason was our waiter. He is top notch, professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. His wine suggestions were supurb. We look forward to dining at Gramercy Tavern again in the near future. Hopefully, Jason will be our waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    355
    138
    37
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had the best experience in this restaurant. Me and my husband went to dinner and we loved it, not only because the food is delicious and original but also because the fancy experience

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants I've been to, and one of the most relaxed dining experiences. Tasting menu was delicious, we bought a white Burgundy to go with it as there were lots of fish courses. Then duck with glass of St Esteph followed by peanut butter semifeddo with Jumilla dessert wine. Great service with a smile. Highly recommended if you're in NYC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gramercy Tavern is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Gramercy Tavern was the culinary highlight of our month's holiday in the USA last September/October. It combined delicious food, a lovely ambience and friendly, professional service from well informed staff. Our first meal included sweetbreads which were beautifully cooked. I enjoyed ordering wine in different sized tasting quantities. We were so impressed with the experience that we booked for a degustation menu. Our next trip to New York will definitely include a meal at Gramercy Tavern. Its excellent food was complemented by the best coffee of our whole USA trip (which was immensely enjoyable, except for the coffee).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Six of us travelled to New York to celebrate a birthday. We chose the Gramercy Tavern based on reviews and their website.

Our expectations were very high, and the Gramercy Tavern exceeded in all categories. Perfection in the reservation and no delay in seating. Comfortable, ambient and unpretentious atmosphere. Impeccable, efficient, yet unobtrusive service.

And the food... WOW the food. We selected the Seasonal Tasting Menu. Every course built on the next. Inspired and delectable cuisine. Three hours of unmatched dining.

All 6 of us are well-travelled and between us have dined at some of the best restaurants on every continent. All of us agreed it was the best dining experience we had ever enjoyed.

Expensive, but worth every dollar and some. Actually a great value when you consider this would be your entire evening out.

They only accept reservations 28 days prior, starting at 10:00 am. They do book up quickly. If you want a weekend or holiday, set your alarm for exactly 10:00 am 28 days ahead and book through their website, or you may be out of luck. I tried to call and the line was constantly busy. After 5 minutes gave up and reserved through their website, and it there was only 2 times left available.

In summary, put the Gramercy Tavern on your "bucket list". A must for any 'foodie'.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.