We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar for drinks and barfood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circus

Circus
132 E 61st St, New York City, NY 10021-7312 (Manhattan)
(212) 223-2965
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Circus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,596 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Brazilian, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Description: Circus Restaurant has been serving fine Brazilian cuisine for over 17 years. While the menu stays true to their family's recipes, there is a sophistication to each dish.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Bar for drinks and barfood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I ended up at this bar on a rainy tuesday night. The bartender was from Mexico and knew how to make real margartias and caipirinahs. We ended up eating at the bar vs migrating to a table. The food was great. Looking forward to a sit-down meal here. Ambiance is classy but casual.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    17
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We came across the Circus when walking round, we hadn't booked but got a table, it is lovely and relaxing inside, the staff very good and the food excellent. The Yuca chips delicious side with the Passarinho ( chicken, rice and beans ).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Think twice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Sorry guys! You were nice and friendly, but as long as You don't have a chef who is able to cook the most simple food and all You can offer is two very mediocre white wines, You should really think twice if there is any idea to run an empty restaurant in this expensive location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband went there a few years and they were just about to close. However, they served us. We had no idea what to have and the owner suggested Picadinho. We cannot wait to go back. Funny thing, after we got there the place got crowded. Not sure what time they closed. OH, the Picadinho was terrific. Everyone was friendly and someone came out and started to play music. What a great night and after traveling from California. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It took me a little bit longer to be seated than I would hope, even though the restaurant was almost empty. Otherwise, the service was decent. I don't know a thing about Brazilian food but I was not sure if the food there was that authentic. The food wasn't bad. I liked it, except the dessert. I liked my appetizer. It was a meatball dish.

Circus was good for a change but I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus also viewed

 

Been to Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.