We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best skirt steaks I've eaten” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana

Cabana
1022 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10021 (Manhattan)
(212) 980-5678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,582 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best skirt steaks I've eaten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I will not profess to be an expert on the cuisine, but that's never stopped me from really enjoying the food at this restaurant.

As a Londoner, we are not spoilt for choice for Latino/Cuban food, so whenever I am in NY, I make it a point to eat here - and it has never disappointed.

My favourite is the skirt steak with the chimmichuri sauce, though colleagues have tried other mains, and the general impression is that the food is of high quality.

I'd recommend the flan for dessert, and a very helpful waiting staff makes this a place I will keep coming back to.

It does help that I usually stay no more than a 10 min walk away, but I would make the effort even if I was further away.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cabana "Midtown"... Great Waiters, Better Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I visited this restaurant on 2 occasions within 3 days and must say that it was worth it. I had actually visited New York for medical reasons and ate here the night I arrived. The waiters here are very attentive and for me one thing I always look for is good customer service. When I got out of the hospital I was on crutches but the entire time I was in Lenox Hill I thought about the skirt steak at Cabana. So the day I got out of the hospital I picked my crutches up and limped 4 blocks to 61st & 3rd avenue and enjoyed a wonderful meal. The maduros, sweet plantains, were very good and just your basic "ensalada", very simple salad was very tasty. They also make fruit juices from fresh mango, banana, a large variety of fruits. Overall the food at Cabana Midtown is well worth your money. The ranking of this restaurant does not do it justice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty mojitos, yucca fries, and coconut rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The coco mohito was great, as was the mango. We also had yucca fries that were tasty.
Chiccorone de pollo was filling and crispy. The ropa vieja was about average. The wife got coconut rice instead of the usual rice and beans side and it was delicious!

Not as awesome as the little hole in the walls we have in Tampa but we were definitely not disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I were on a weekend trip to New York. We were walking on Third Avenue and came across the Cabana Midtown, which is a Latin/Cuban restaurant. Both my wife and I like ethnic food, so we decided to peruse the menu, which was posted in their window. It looked interesting, so we decided to have dinner there. We did not make a mistake. The restaurant was somewhat crowded, but the hostess was able to seat us. A waitress promptly came to our table and gave us a menu. The prices on the menu were not low, but not high either. We ordered plantain chips as an appetizer. My wife ordered skirt steak over rice, and I ordered a Latin style chicken with vegetables over rice. We received our plantain chips right away. There was a good portion for both of us, and they were delicious and very addictive. Despite the large crowd, both my wife and I received our main meal within 10 minutes after placing our order. The food was hot and delicious. The portions were huge. Both my wife and I agreed that we could have easily shared my meal alone with plenty for others. I have a big appetite and was unable to finish my meal. My wife, too, could not finish hers. The waitress asked if we wanted a doggy bag, but we declined. Both my wife and I left the Cabana Midtown stuffed, and we both agreed we would eat here again when we returned to New York.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My first Cuban restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

On a cold rainy afternoon in NYC we strolled over to the Cubana "Midtown" on 3rd Ave. What a nice surprise! The Frituras de Vegetales was broccoli and carrot with just a hint of sauce. The Paella Marinera for my partner was fery good and very large. I had the Empanadillas and with the hot sauce was just the comfort food I was looking for and this cold day. Cocktails are reasonable for NYC.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.