We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amaranth Restaurant

Amaranth Restaurant
21 E. 62nd St., New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)
212-980-6700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amaranth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,633 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We walked in to the restaurant to be greeted by the back side of one of the owners busily texting and ignoring the door. We were finally seated and ordered an aperitif. While discussing the menu with the server he suggested we try the Lobster risotto which we did. When it finally arrived it was not inspiring in its appearance and upon tasting my worst fears were realized. It tasted like tomato soup with rice thrown in to it and the lobster was inedible as it was so over cooked and rubbery. The waiter asked how it was and when informed he offered to replace it which he did... with a Lobster Salad. We had specifically mentioned that the lobster was tough and he assured us that the ones for the salad were freshly poached. Unfortunately my idea of fresh and his are off by a couple of days as this one too was inedible. The waiter disappeared not to be seen again. We flagged down the owner when he finally looked up from his texting requested our check, paid and left. Don't bother.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fun New Years Eve at Amaranth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amaranth is a favorite restaurant of ours. Great food, great atmosphere, great location, nice but older crowd. Dover sole, Salmon, Halibut all excellent. Salad with avocado and artichoke is delicious. tuna tArtare is wonderful.
New Years eve was a special treat. They didn't hit you up with ridiculous prix fixe menus like so many other restaurants do. Nicely decorated. DJ played wonderful music, age appropriate. A fun time was had by all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“amaranth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

great european bistro i the the upper east side. food is way above average and always a good crowd. also serves on the late side.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Uptown girls this is your place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A very bustling little restaurant this is! Excellent service and great ambiance. Waiter brought our water, wine and appetizer right away. Focaccio pizza, I highly recommend this as a starter for the table to split - Delicious! Wonderful fish entres! The salmon and sea scallops are cooked perfectly and decoratively served with lightly seasoned vegis. Looking around this fine establishment one cannot help to notice all the women in this place. This place was packed yet I was the one of the only woman sitting with 2 handsome men ( my husband and his colleague) It must be the preferred place for girls day out. Ladies if you are going with a friend make sure you dress the part or be prepared for the femme fatal stink eye!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were walking up Madison and stumbled on this little gem. It had just opened for lunch and we thought "why not?"

The service was great, the food was nice and it had a great neighborhood vibe.

But please note: their specialty focaccia is absolutely amazing.

I saw a very negative review here. Please disregard it. Amaranth is worth visiting if you are looking for a brief respite from walking, shopping, and gallery viewing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaranth Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Amaranth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaranth Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.