We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Boulud

Cafe Boulud
20 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)
212-772-2600
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 5th and Madison Avenues
Transit: #6 Train to 77th Street & Lexington Avenue M1, M2,M3 or M4 buses on Madison Avenue - 77th Street Stop
Description: CAFÉ BOULUD features a French-American menu inspired by Chef Daniel Boulud's four culinary muses: la tradition, classic French cuisine; la saison, seasonal delicacies; le potager, the vegetable garden; and le voyage, the flavors of world cuisines. In addition to dinner seven nights, we feature a $37 two-course prix-fixe lunch six days a week, and brunch on Sundays. The restaurant is both a neighborhood gem and a destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Two private dining rooms seating 18 guest each are available for your private entertaining needs, and may be combined to accommodate 40. The restaurant's adjacent BAR PLEIADES serves inventive cocktails and a luxurious bar menu from 3 pm onwards. DANIEL • DB Bistro Moderne •Boulud Sud• Bar Boulud • DBGB Kitchen & Bar
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I absolutely love the food here and I am always delighted by the next dish I discover. I fell in love with this restaurant the day I had the venison. The gentleman who took care of me was Athanassios. His art of service & sunny mediterranean personality made me love the restaurant even more, inspite of the fact that I'm not a fan of the physical space itself (My least favourite space at the Surrey hotel & my least favourite space out of the Boulud ventures in NYC) or the general ambience, which feels a bit claustrophobic, stuffy & stiff. My ultimate fantasy would be to have this exquisite food in the comfort of my room!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    143
    65
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our friends had the prix fixe menu and we ordered a la carte, it was all sublime. The attention was A-1. The waiters knew how to serve properly and everything was divine!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2020
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Good Food. Nice Ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A Nice Sunday Brunch at the Upper East Side.

Food was good, and a great atmosphere.

Lovely espresso to end the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Place for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to this restaurant on the New Year's eve. The place was nicely decorated, and the food was just great. Twelve course pre-fix dinner. Venison was very good. Expensive, but hey - it's New Year's eve. They have a bar that was turned into a disco after midnight. This restaurant is located on the Upper East Side in Manhattan. Our friends said that they offer a very good brunch too.

Two day's later we decided to eat out with our friends who live in the Upper West Side. To our surprise, they booked the restaurant called Bar Boulud. The owner is the same - well known chef Daniel Boulud. The decor is simple, but the food was very good too. I had a salad with chicken livers and fish. Our friends said that the duck breast was delicious too.

Right next door there is a gastronomic food store called Epicerie Boulud. You can buy there lots of delicious product ranging from macaroons to blood sausages. Need to pay a separate visit to this store.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My son & I enjoyed a great lunch here on a Saturday afternoon. Though crowded service was excellent. Even with the crowd there was no rush to move us along. We both had the Fluke as part of a prix-fixe menu. I also had octopus carpaccio as the first course. Unusual but interesting. My son had the salad which I would call average. The Fluke however was very good. The desert was OK. All in all if you are up for an upscale place for lunch you would do well by choosing this spot. I would expect either my son & I will be back or I shall return with my wife.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Boulud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.