We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three is a charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Cafe

Candle Cafe
1307 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10021-3301 (Upper East Side)
212-472-7169
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #583 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Three is a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

But so is one and two. I was so happy to hear they opened a branch on the upper west side and it is ever bit as good as Candle 79 but more spacious and less cramped. The vegan food is out of this world and the drinks both alcoholic and non alcoholic are sublime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    61
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Healthy Options, Relaxed Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Candle Cafe is a neighborhood favorite which has excellent vegan food and a warm staff. It is a super relaxed atmosphere, in a hole in the wall space, which only adds to it's charm. It is so nice to have a restaurant with healthy and reasonably priced options. They have simple sides such as steamed greens, broccoli, sweet potato and tofu which make a perfect, simple dinner. The chimichirri seitan skewers are out of this world and the cajun seitan sandwich is delicious if you're feeling indulgent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I heart Candle Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Hurricane Sandy shut down some vegan restaurants. Thank goodness for Candle Cafe. This restaurant is a gem. Kind of small for such a popular cafe but worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I really liked this restaurant. I enjoyed my meal, the server was helpful. I would definitely come back again next time I am in NYC. There were so many things I wanted to try it was hard to pick out just one entree.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Came recommended by my hotel concierge and it did not disappointed!
Guacamole is excellent.
Vegan quesadillas were just scrumptious!
You HAVE to try their sweet onion jam...wow!

Not a big fan of the rice pudding though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Candle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.