We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken is solid, stick with that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chirping Chicken

Chirping Chicken
355 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, NY 10024-6904 (Upper West Side)
212.787.6631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,659 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Chicken is solid, stick with that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The chicken is good and that's what you should stick to. My dad got a chicken sandwich and really enjoyed it. The wings I got were pretty oily. The reason why this place gets average is because of the mac and cheese. It is horrid. DO NOT get it under any circumstances. It takes worst than boxed stuff. Was very disappointed in it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    55
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stopped in here to grab a bit for the ride home and was surprised that what appeared to be a fast food type place had such great quality. My chicken sandwich was fresh, well prepared and really tasty. Great value for the money and really good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Need a roasted,tasty chicken fix? Yeah, I thought you would too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so you don't go here on the first date unless you want to see how down to earth and food loving your date is. The chicken is mmmm gooood-put some hot sauce on the side and you will love it.

Can't stop thinking about it-wish they open late night downtown!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great place to get fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found this place near our hotel. Chicken was good, fast and plentiful. Great place to grab a quick meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes its difficult to find food for a finicky 4yo grandson in the city. This place was a godsend as we were trying to locate a place with chicken fingers. I placed an order for chicken "tenders" which I mistakenly believed were "fingers". Even tho this was my mistake, the service staff replaced the dish with "fingers" without hesitation and without additional charge. The flame broiled chicken that I had was very delicious and the cost was extremely reasonable. We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chirping Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Chirping Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chirping Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.