We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly great Mexican (New Mexican style) in NYC at last!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa FE Restaurant

Santa FE Restaurant
73 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)
(212) 724-0822
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Santa FE Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,436 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Columbus Avenue
Transit: Take the 1, 2, 3, B, or C train to 72nd Street
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nearly great Mexican (New Mexican style) in NYC at last!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having lived in the southwest and California, I know what I like in Mexican food, and I know what is good. So far, New York Mexican restaurants, mostly Tex-Mex style, have been sorely disappointing. However, Santa Fe, on 71st Street is exceptionally good.

The service here was fabulous; lovely, friendly young people who seem to love their jobs or at least appreciate having an income while they do the audition rounds; staff was unflustered even when the evening rush began. The margheritas were powerfully potent and delicious, and the food was really remarkably good. We had the chile rellenos, vegetarian (and it was even served vegan without asking!!) burritos, chips and salsa, and all were far and away better than anything I've had in NYC.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    26
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for New York! OK if your from the SW.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I live in an area that has real Mexican cooks cooking real home Mexican food. The Sante Fe was good by many standards. It wasn't as good as I get at home. But hey I wasn't at home and for Mexican in the middle of New York this was pretty good. Great service and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Southwestern Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good Southwestern Tex-Mex menu with some classic Mexican selections. Nice drink menu. Enjoy the margaritas. Modern bright Southwestern decor.
Good service and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Santa Fe Upper West Side NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This restaurant is a real find. It's classified as Mexican but it's really a fusion of Mexican and Western with something for everyone's taste. The margueritas set the tone for a great evening. Good prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks at Santa Fe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I went to Santa Fe for dinner last Saturday. This is a standard (well, maybe one notch above standard) Southwest cuisine restaurant in Manhattan's Upper West Side. The restaurant did not disappoint:

1) fast and attentive service. Our attendant was quite knowledgeable about the offerings and had no attitude. In fact, she was quite cordial. Similarly, the support staff were always around refilling water and chips without being summoned;

2) My half chicken with vegetables and cilantro potatoes was quite tasty and fairly well priced. More expensive yet very good indeed where the stuffed crab cakes that my wife ordered. Both dishes were well presented. Unfortunately, we could not have dessert since the above dishes left us thoroughly full;

3) the atmosphere is quite pleasant and not too noisy for a medium-sized windowless space. The decor, in Pueblo'n'desert-style pastels, was subtle and not overdone. Going for dinner after 9PM was definitely a plus, since we did not experience any rushing.

It is an overall good place for a casual dinner out with good food with no pretentions of fake grandeur (although just maybe a tad pricy at about $81 for two people, tax and tip included). Yet I would not be fair if I did not mention that $18 of the tab belonged to my two on-the-rocks margaritas that were quite satisfying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa FE Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Santa FE Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa FE Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.